02
Feb
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Andro Vs. Femme

Em Brownlowe

I would consider myself to have an androgynous personal style (I would pity the fool who saw me in a dress). Sometimes I wonder what other andro gals or butch dykes would look like if they dolled up a bit.

Lucky for me, I can avoid the dreaded drag-queen fest and see the reversed situation : naturally femme actresses flipping their gender persona when they play androgynous roles.

Hilary Swank in Boys Don’t Cry
Andro Swank Takes The Cake
swankandro.jpghilary_swank_3.jpg

Cate Blanchett in I’m Not There
In the movie, Cate pulls off Dylan’s pretentious swagger perfectly. Based on this picture Femme Flies!

catefemme.jpgcatedylan.jpg

Christina Ricci in Monster
Andro Suits her better!!!
ricciandro.jpegriccifemme.jpeg

Charlize Theron in Monster
Femme Fatale is more deadly than the creepy truck stop killer vibe!!!

theron.jpg

Angelina Jolie in Fox Fire
Andro-lina Jolie keeps the fire hot!!!

angelinaandro.jpgjoliefemme.jpg

I also find it interesting when andro women “doll” it up a little bit:

(IE. Katherine Moennig from The L Word)
Normally, Andro would prevail but between these two pictures I think we have a tie.

moennig.jpgmoennigfemme.jpg

Check out this video when Moennig takes a femme woman shopping for andro clothes:


2 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Andro Vs. Femme”


  1. 1 Jenna
    February 3, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Best femme to andro winners for me are Hilary Swank in Boys Don’t Cry and Katherine Moennig in the L-Word. Swank is a winner because as “Brandon” Swank is the hottest ftm I have ever seen! I don’t even think Swank is hot as a femme, but as a boy she was hot as hell! Moennig is also a winner in my book because she is the hottest fake dyke I have ever seen. Even as a femme, she’s still quite dyky… which is a difficult role to pull. I’m sad that both of these women are straight because the gay community could really benefit from their gifts (and by the gay community, I mean me… ).

    Thanks Em. Love ya!

  2. 2 gaycondo
    February 3, 2008 at 11:04 am

    i thought moennig came out recently? or are we just spreading more rumors. a baby-dyke angel just died if she is a fake lesbian. -EM


Leave a comment


Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 432,415 hits