12
Jan
08

Beth: New Art Arriving in GayCondo soon!

beth

Dear BlogWorld,

You are the first to know, I haven’t told the housemates yet, that I have just purchased a new print online from this amazing website called 20×200. Jon introduced me to the site about two months ago but I haven’t given it much attention until the last week. Why is this site SO amazing? It sells prints of paintings or photographs in three sizes. The smallest size starts out at $20, the middle size for $200, and the largest size for $2,000. Another great feature about buying the works from this site is that they are editioned so this brings added value. Below is a print of a photo by an artist named Karolina Karlic.

karolina-karlic.jpg

Karlic is a native of Poland who moved here in the 1980’s with her parents who were wanting to escape a communist nation. In the US she grew up in Detroit. This photograph is from her series titled “Dee” which is slang for Detroit. Karlic’s current work continues to examine the theme of desire and its flip-side, despair. After looking through almost all of the artist on the 20X200 web site, her photography jumped out at me the most. I like the photograph because it doesn’t have a time stamped feeling like the other works. We are just left with a space that is focused on her use of colour and with limited content. The women’s untied shoe breathes out the sigh of a long day that has ended and now comes undone, and is relieved. The image doesn’t have to speed you up with lots of pieces, giving a viewer a settled feeling, a quality I look for in home art. It is something I can see living with day in and day out, a deciding factor whenever I am considering a purchase.

2 Responses to “Beth: New Art Arriving in GayCondo soon!”


  1. January 16, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Thanks for the support. I will be showing my new work in NY at Jen Bekman the 8th of Feb. Hope to see you guys there and if not stay posted!!!

    Mwuah!

    kk

  2. 2 gaycondo
    January 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I just got the print in the mail and it looking amazing! As soon as I can it is going to the framer and getting some UV glass!


Leave a Reply

