21
Jan
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: You know you’re getting older when…

emBrownlowe
tragickingdom.jpg
You know you’re getting older when you realize that your fav album from 5th grade has reached it’s 13 year anniversary. In my case, this album was NO DOUBT’s “Tragic Kingdom” which brought the band into mainstream status in 1995.

remember this one?:

( ( ( My first rock performance involved my friend Lynsey and I doing a rendition of No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak”. She was to sing and I was to play drums. Since we didn’t have anyone inbetween to play guitar we decided to use the CD for the musical background. The performance was to take place at a Church talent show. We were so excited to have our debut. My mother drove us there and had to drop us off because my brother was sick with a high fever. I had arranged to borrow my school’s marching band bass drum/kick pedal and I had saved my chore allowance for months to buy a snare drum from the occasion. I guess the occasion was really overwhelming because right before we went on I swore in Church because I had forgotten my drum sticks! OH NO! Lucky for me, the skit before us had used a 22 oz plastic pepsi bottle as a prop…So that was my drum stick for the night. The unfortunate situation translated Lynsey and I as the best act of the night… Or at least that’s what my mother heard from people who could actually be there to watch. ) ) )
Em Kid Garage Rock

My 5th grade best friend, Lynsey, and I (yellow shirt) jamming in the garage.

So much has changed since then. Remember when the only cool Internet extras for music you loved were MIDIs? Now I can watch any music video on You Tube I would stay up till 2am watching 120 Minutes Reruns…

13 years later I work in the downtown performing arts district catering to people who rarely get out or are about to die. Those who are about to die go to the symphony. I question how the symphony is going to survive with it’s patrons imminent death and the crisis of music education in public schools.

I often think about when “oldies” stations are going to stop playing the Beatles and start playing bands like Nirvana, No Doubt, Garbage and other icons of the early 90s.

((( This may happen sooner than we think – Jon just told me that Starbucks sells NIRVANA Cds now. EFF YOU COURTNEY LOVE FOR YOUR (NOT SO) BANKRUPT MORALS! )))

2 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: You know you’re getting older when…”


  1. 1 julia
    January 21, 2008 at 1:19 am

    i love this- “Those who are about to die go to the symphony.”
    jammin my girl.
    so is there a video of you cursin’ in church?

  2. 2 Em
    January 21, 2008 at 11:52 am

    unfortunately not! like i said, my mother wasn’t able to go cause of my sick brother.


Leave a Reply

