31
Jan
08

Paul: Anyone else in their early-mid 20’s remember Xuxa?

paul

…check out this disturbing clip to jog your memory.


Brazilian model/singer Xuxa (pronounced shu-sha) had this absurd tv show in America for a short while back in the early 90’s. I admit it had it’s appeal back when I was a 9 year-old gaywad, but watching this now freaks me out. Just look at the faces of those kids, nobody’s home! It reminds me of the time my 8th grade girlfriend took me to her Pentacostal Church – everyone was hopping around, shouting, and just generally spazzing out. I had to call my mom to come get me because I couldn’t handle it. In spite of the creepiness I applaud Xuxa for taking fashion risks, most of her outfits were equally over the top. I also like the sexy circus ladies doing crowd control.

2 Responses to “Paul: Anyone else in their early-mid 20’s remember Xuxa?”


  1. January 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    totally remember this! i was too old to be into it (the ripe age of eleven, i believe, WAY too cool. um.), but my friends and i used to sing the song from the commercial for the xuxa doll on the playground. i don’t remember why… an early suggestion of hipster irony, i suppose? anyways, i was thinking about this the other day because this girl we used to call “xuxa” behind her back, god knows why, is now my friend on myspace. children are weird. some things never change.

    oh yeah, i am neither a mean girl nor a stalker. loving this blog though!

  2. 2 Sergio
    March 31, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    haha i remember her! but i watched her in spanish not in english.


Leave a Reply

