05
Feb
08

Paul: My Thoughts on the Presidential Primaries…


…check out Hillary Clinton’s open letter to LGBT americans.

hillary-gay.jpg
Yesterday Hillary Clinton sent out an open letter to all the gays telling us she wants to be our president. You can read it here. The gay vote is split between Clinton and Obama, which makes me wonder, is she being genuine or just trying to bring a few of us over to her side before Super Tuesday. My firsth impression is that it sounds like she’s being real,  though I don’t really know how to react. I can’t remember a presidential candidate making “promises” to me. They either ignore us or loathe us. It seems like the democratic party is realligning itself in support of civil unions/domestic parterships and other homo issues. I was wavering because I like both candidates, but I now tentatively throw my support behind Clinton. Still, if she fucks us over the bitch better watch out.

4 Responses to “Paul: My Thoughts on the Presidential Primaries…”


  1. 1 thehostess
    February 6, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Thanks for the post on Hillary’s letter…I too am wary of campaign promises made then broken, but it still gives me hope that gays will be remembered and respected in this election. I set up a post for you/it on my blog.
    http://www.thehostess.wordpress.com

  2. 2 jos76
    February 7, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I do appreciate the effort, but while on LOGO, she said over and over that she wants to leave the gay marriage issue to the states. Obama wants to make sure that there is federal recognition (He calls it STROONG civil unions). Clinton made no such claim. I am a legally married gay man in Massachusetts and my partner and I have no federal rights or recognition. This is essentially what Clinton supports.

    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  3. February 8, 2008 at 4:16 am

    days after voting in the primaries and i am still torn. because the two align so closely on the issues, i voted with my gut: obama, but i’m not sure how to feel about it. here in l.a., it seems like it’s middle-of-the-road, middle-class lesbians for clinton, hipsters for obama. i find this unsettling because although i remain surrounded by both groups, i closely identify with neither. i consider myself a hardcore feminist, so i can say with no hint of misogynistic fear that i just don’t trust clinton, but i can’t really say why. plus, i don’t really know if she can beat mccain. i dunno, i hope for all of our sake that i candidate we can all truly stand behind emerges, because i refuse compromise at this point, as a woman, a queer, and a person of color.

  4. 4 gaycondo
    February 8, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I definately feel conflicted. I think that either Clinton or Obama will kick McCain’s ass in the general election. We’re in the middle of a recession and Republicans don’t get elected when the economy sucks. McCain is runnning on national security and his war hero status, people are sick of the war and focused more on domestic issues. Both Clinton and Obama’s campaigns are focused on health care and the economy, issues that are more on people’s minds right now. What’s equally important is making sure that Democrats maintain control of congress and get a solid majority in the Senate. If we can have enough control that republicans won’t be able to fillibuster a bill to make our gay marriages and civil unions recognized by the federal government. It’s going to happen eventually, and more and more states are going to allow some sort of recognition. The question is how fast.


Leave a Reply

