29
Feb
08

Paul: Chloe Sevigny is the luckiest MF in the world…


…seriously!

chloe.jpg


I know I’ve been on a total music video kick lately, but you’re just going to have to roll with it until I get it out of my system. I know that the Lemonheads were kind of a shitty band, but for some reason I kind of like them anyway. I’m sure a significant part of that is the fact that Evan Dando is such dreamboat. sigh… While scoping out some of their old videos on Youtube and swooning over him I spotted Chloe Sevigny in the video for “Big Gay Heart”. Dando looks even more sexy than usual in this video, I’d never seen him with short hair before. I did a little research and it turns out this video was made in 1993, a couple of years before Chloe Sevigny became pseudo-famous starring in “Kids.” Anyway, here’s the video:

She was only 18 years old and had just moved to Brooklyn from her comfy suburban hometown in Connecticut. I don’t have the whole story, but I’m sure she only got to be in the video because she was such a total scenester. According to Wikipedia her whole career began when someone from Sassy magazine spotted her hanging out at a Brooklyn skate park and liked her style so much that they asked her to come intern there – giving her the opportunity to network with famous people. Who knows, had she not been at that skate park on that day, the world may have been deprived of her unquestionable style and talent. She may well have gotten married and moved back to Connecticut, where one day she’d brag to her kids about the time she was in a Lemonheads video.

7 Responses to “Paul: Chloe Sevigny is the luckiest MF in the world…”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    February 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I do LOVE Chloe…. for Trees Lounge. Freakin FANNNtastic film.

    …I must admit I’m not big on Kids or Brown Bunny.

    …has she done any other movies?? *looks at IMDB*

  2. 2 The Bearded Traveler
    February 29, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Okay, she has been in quite a few famous films. I have seen American Psycho, actually, but have not seen some of these very well-known ones. The Last Days of Disco, Party Monster, Dogville, Boys Don’t Cry, those Harmony Korine ones. Harmony seemed really cute on Letterman, but those movies seem kinda bugged, from what I’ve read.

  3. 3 gaycondo
    February 29, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    yeah, I’m glad I’ve seen Kids and I watched it when I was about 13 or so and totally missed the point. I was just like, “wow, these kids are bad-ass!” I watched it again as an adult and it kind of made me sick. Gummo and that other Korrine one were pretty much unwatchable. Party Monster has its moments, but they really don’t include her. If you haven’t seen Big Love I highly recommend it, though ultimately I can see how people characterize her as more of a style icon and because of her modeling rather than her acting. She definately can act, but she’s always going out and being photographed in these amazing, over-the-top outfits that tend to characterize her over her work. She’s definately an original.

  4. 4 The Bearded Traveler
    March 1, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    You sorta get what my problem was with Kids. I saw it on cable with my brother when I was 25 or so, or I watched a large portion before I went “UGH!” and stopped. A co-worker at my store back then summed it up nicely, “I got to the end and wish I hadn’t watched it.” Exactly. I DIDN’T get to the end and wished I hadn’t watched it.

    I want to add one thing though, re: Brown Bunny- People make such a HUGE deal that she has oral sex with Gallo…. BUT if you think about how very many actresses over the years were sleeping with their director, is it THAT out of the ordinary? I don’t think so. It just happens to be in the film.
    My ultimate impressions of Brown Bunny were similar to Roger Ebert’s review AFTER it had been shortened and Gallo had cussed out Ebert for saying teh original longer version should be shortened; it is an okay film, but it is verrrry slow. It’s kinda partially the point that it’s slow (it deals a lot with modern alienation), but that doesn’t mean one has to enjoy that.

    I like weird-ass, arty, low-budget films, but yeah, the Korine ones… I’ve read about them. They do not sound like they are my thing, in the plot specifics… which sound grossss.


Leave a Reply

