13
Mar
08

Paul: Chloe (don’t call me a model) Sevigny


…more about the lucky bitch.
In case you didn’t read my recent post about Ms. Sevigny, please check it out here. I just happened upon this amazing music video in which she stars. It’s for “I Feel Like the Mother of the World” by Smog. It’s really amazingly well acted by her. The man on the tv in it is Bill Callahan, who is Smog. It’s wierd that I never saw this before since I’ve been a fan of both of them for years. Anyway, here it is!

Apparently Sevigny gets infuriated when people refer to her as “model” or “style icon” Chloe Sevigny. She prefers to be known for her acting, which she is admittedly quite talented at, but how can she blame people for thinking of her ties to fashion when she’s always going out in the most over-the-top, amazing clothes? Just take a look at these examples:
chloe3.jpgchloe-9.jpgchloe-8.jpg

chloe.jpg        chloe-5.jpg       chloe-6.jpg
Clearly she’s hot shit, people make fun of her but I think she looks great and is simply ahead of the curve. She is definately on the fringe when it comes to the movie-roles she takes (there’s no Oscar for best blow-job), and her fashion sense is no different. She even designs her own clothing line for Opening Ceremony. I think it’s great, especially the gingham slacks. If millions of people bitch and moan about how fugly you look when you go out, you must be doing something right… right? Anyway, check out this video where she discusses the aesthetic of her line, which seems to be very much inspired by 90’s alterna-teens. This is something regular readers of my posts will already know appeals to me.

10 Responses to “Paul: Chloe (don’t call me a model) Sevigny”


  1. 1 Nickey Robo
    March 13, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    way to bring back the 90’s!

    It’s like she just copied everything from the June 1993 issue of Sassy. Sorry, but I think it’s mostly pretty awful.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    March 13, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    I think the June 1993 issue of Sassy is a perfectly wonderful source of inspiration. Did you know Jane Pratt had her own tv show? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzYykIA1xVg

  3. 3 gaycondo
    March 13, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    i agree with Nickey. I love Chloe’s acting and her face and hair but the clothes got to go. -EM

  4. 4 gaycondo
    March 14, 2008 at 12:33 am

    WRONG!
    As you all know, fashion forcasting is quite literally my job.
    Let me tell you: Sevigny and and Sassy are going to be the SHIT this summer.
    WATCH OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 5 Nickey Robo
    March 14, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Well it sounds like it’s going to be a really ugly summer!
    But I WAS wondering when the 90’s were going to come back. Now I know.

  6. 6 gaycondo
    March 14, 2008 at 10:50 am

    yeah, farewell to two decades of 80’s nostalgia. -EM

  7. 7 The Bearded Traveler
    March 16, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    The 70s have been on a continuous resurgence since…. since about when Redd Kross ceased to be interesting whilst doing it. No, to be fair to them, since about the height of when they were doing it, around 1987.

    I am a 70s product, so I’m not sure what to say about the 70s… other than Grindhouse was accurate.

    Anyway, I agree with letting Chloe go crazy.
    Clothing is not MADE by people playing it safe. It’s MADE by boldness.
    I was looking at some Yahoo fashion-do-and-don’t thing yesterday. The people that they kept praising? All were wearing basic black. PLAIN BLACK dresses. It’s like sending up a signal flare with “I don’t want to wear anything that will be noticed!!” on it. It’s like the Yahoo fashion people (and… WHO are THEY??) were saying, “If you wear more than 2 colors at once, YOU’RE GAUDY.” Ridiculous and gutless.

  8. March 25, 2008 at 6:23 am

    ohhhhhhhhhh my god, i love chloe… and SMOG. wow.


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!