18
Mar
08

Jon: I really like my cats, but this is ridiculous….

….ridiculously awesome!

The other day, Paul and I were discussing how sad we will be when our cats eventually cat_orange_sleep-327x238.jpgdie. How will we survive without them, and more importantly what will we do with their furry little bodies?

Burial?

Cremation?

Taxidermy?

Personally, I’m into the idea of pet taxidermy. You can pose them however you want! I imagine our cats in a playful tableau where they are swatting and/or licking each other….

Dog TaxidermyAnyway, I found a company based in Colorado who specialize in pet taxidermy. Except, this is no ordinary run of the mill taxidermy. This is freeze dried taxidermy! Basically, they turn your pet into cuddley little beef jerky critters.

I AM TOTALLY GOING TO DO THIS!

P.S. This dog and cat are both crazy dead. Seriously.

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Jon: I really like my cats, but this is ridiculous….”


  1. March 19, 2008 at 1:07 am

    I don’t know… this sort of denies the idea of “get over it and live on”. Can you imagine you two breaking up? You don’t stuff your ex when he leaves, or, well, dies. You mourn the loss and then you find somebody new. Same thing with pets. You can develop strong ties to Snowflake I, Snowflake II, …Snowflake VII.

  2. March 19, 2008 at 4:32 am

    I just lost a cat to kidney disease on February 12th. He’s in the freezer at the vet’s waiting for spring burial in the back acreage.

    I saw someone who kept their pet’s skulls–she was a biologist or zoologist. That was appealing to me because you could use the skull of a favourite pet in a still life or drawing.

  3. 3 jesusloveswinners
    March 19, 2008 at 9:08 am

    My friends and I were just talking about this a couple of days ago! HA! How funny! Then it sparked a whole new conversation when it reminded me that my friend Boo wanted to leave a side note in her will requiring herself to be stuffed. This way her grandchildren and great grandchildren would always be able to play with grandma Boo! She could sit on the couch for all of eternity!….That was a long time ago. I wonder if she’s grown out of that?

  4. 4 gaycondo
    March 19, 2008 at 9:37 am

    JJ-
    Yeah. I used to be friends with this crazy girl who was obsessed with cats. Not healthy attachment obsessed either. They were litterally the center of her world. She acted like they were the only thing that gave her purpose or value. Anyway, when her csts died (she had like 30)she would bury them in her yard in some sort of special bag, and then after 3 months she would dig them up and all that would be left was the skull. So she has this cat skull collection….
    Once I got to know her, I decided she was a bit “unbalanced” to say the least, so I stopped being friends with her.
    -Jon

  5. March 19, 2008 at 9:53 am

    OMG, she dug them up????

    I was thinking a taxidermist could clean the skull for people wanting to keep it. One for scientific illustration would be interesting. Thirty would seem a tad on the obsessive side.

    Maybe she just wanted attention, perhaps the affectation of weirdness got her the attention she wanted?

    But still. . . . .yikes.

  6. 6 jesusloveswinners
    March 20, 2008 at 5:38 am

    What was she doing that her cats were dying often enough for her to have a collection? MY GOD! They can live up to 15yrs!

  7. 7 gaycondo
    March 20, 2008 at 9:46 am

    she had I think 6 cats at the time I knew her, and she frequently adopted elderly cats. She wasn;t killing them, but she was for sure crazy…

  8. 8 Sky
    July 4, 2009 at 8:54 am

    My cat Miranda died of either lymphomia or intestinal bowel disease on June 22, 2009. I had been treating her for the past 2 or 3 years for this or that trying to figure out why she kept loosing weight. One vet after another drained me of thousands of dollars after it was all said and done but I loved that cat more than any person I know, she was my baby and money was not an object. Over the last month her health deteriorated and the visits got more frequent and finally I was told to bring her in on a daily basis for liquid injections under the skin, B12 and cortisone injections. That only lasted a week and on Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 she took her first chemo pill at the vet and went downhill. On the following Monday morning she was moving very slow but still getting around. I gave her a bath in the sink and she was only skin and bones. I dried her in a big towel like a baby and let her lay out on the deck to sun dry and I picked fleas off her. Later I rubbed her inside and watched her for hours as she became more and more lethargic that I had to lift her in and out of the liter box. By the afternoon she was defecating on herself because she had no strength to stand up or walk to the liter box so I rushed her in to the vet. It was obvious what I had to do so I burst out in uncontrollable tears. The vet injected her in front of me and I stared into her eyes and caressed her as the poison overtook her and then she was gone. Afterwords, I held her dead body in my arms cradling her like a baby and crying as loud as and as hard as I could until I began to hyperventilate. Since then I searched the internet for the past 2 weeks for taxidermist all over and 99% won’t touch pets and the two that called back never followed up or sent contracts; Southern Taxidermy in Alexandria strung me along and never answered their phone again after the first week. I’m still seeking a taxidermist as Miranda has been frozen for 2 weeks and I miss her dearly. I was told that the average price was $250-$400 for small animals and she was only 2-3 pounds at death for a 15 year old cat. If anyone reads this and knows of a reliable taxidermist who could freeze dry/stuff Miranda and get her back to me in a reasonable time frame I would greatly appreciate it. 817-264-1594


Leave a Reply

