19
Mar
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: WHY I LOVE THE KILLS

emBrownlowe

thekillsrock.jpg

I am SO excited about the The Kills new record, Midnight Boom. I feel like it is their best work yet and I can tell it is going to be on my top 10 favorite albums of 2008…even though it is only March. I am really proud of the Kills for being able to come back strong after 3 years of downtime. This record is fresh and more progressive than their older Velvet Underground-ish garage rock (which I also love). There is an electro-dance rock element, however, the vibe doesn’t suggest the Kills are trying to follow a trend or trying to revert back to 80’s nostalgia. I’ve read some interviews with them and they said they wanted to create a “forward thinking” album or an album that really sounds like 2008… I admire such an intention and feel they achieved their goal with Midnight Boom.

I love the Kills because they take advantage of the world wide interweb and give a shit ton of media to their fans. Besides being musicians, they are visual artists and showcase their art, photography and videography on their main website. They are so proactive they even have a separate website detailing Midnight Boom , they even give away raw tracks for remixers to play with. I feel like these sorts of things are examples of where music is heading….using digital tools and accessibility to break the barriers between the band and their fans.

0 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: WHY I LOVE THE KILLS”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!