31
Mar
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Agent Ribbons…Tragically UnHeard Of…

emBrownlowe

Tragically Un-Heard Of
Band O’ The Week
AGENT RIBBONS

 

agentribbonsjamesdean.jpg

Listen: “Obituary”
https://gaycondo.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/09-obituary.mp3″

Jon and I often discuss bands that would be in our musical family (where genre/creative postmodern pop music = family blood). In this sort of family dynamic, Agent Ribbons would be our second country cousins once removed but they still come over to family reunions anyways and get drunk off of jug wine and eat cherry pie.

I says it before but I’ll say it again: If you like catchy as all hell, sweet, alto voiced gals singing stories over simply strummed serenades, Agent Ribbons is the band for you. After listening to their debut record, On Time Travel and Romance, my biggest regret in life is that I didn’t go to theater school. If I had, I would’ve adapted the album’s music into a Broadway musical. Take their vagrant Saloon tale found within “Strangers” : ‘When he came to his gun was gone, his shirt was in a twist / Dog tired and hungry with no money the blood boiled in his face / He saw a whore and asked her how he came to have such luck / She said “You don’t look at those hard workin’ women that way when you don’t got a buck” / “I’m sorry miss, I tell ya, but old bastards like me are so hung on living life we don’t meditate on courtesies / So go ahead and shoot me I ain’t got nowhere to go / I’ll have myself a whiskey with the devil down below” / Ain’t it funny how strangers find home in the strangest places’.

Now if that doesn’t scream Broadway musical meets Johnny Cash then I just don’t know what to say to you little reader!

agentribbonslive.jpg

Agent Ribbons have been busy over the past year. They went on a national tour as the opening act for Cake, released a limited edition 7″, the Star Crossed Doppelganger, which features two haunting songs and artwork by Dame Darcy, were photographed for a fashion magazine wearing adorably fancy hats (woven by their friend, Naik Fur), filmed a video at the Dandy Warhol’s Odditorium, went on a mini Bay area tour with Swallows and are already planning their spring outing.

AND NOW… A TRAGICALLY UNHEARD OF LIVE VIDEO…
Filmed By Em Brownlowe
The entire Agent Ribbons live performance at The Know
(Portland, OR, 3.3.08)

PART ONE: “The World is a Cigarette” // “Buried With You” // “That’s Not Edgar’s Heart”

WATCH MORE (PARTS 2-4)

Tragically UnHeard Of Archives

1 Response to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Agent Ribbons…Tragically UnHeard Of…”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    April 1, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I do like the Ribbons.


Leave a Reply

