04
Apr
08

Jon: We finally get a chance to see what Kris Van Assche is up to at Dior…

jonheader.jpg

…and it appears to be the costuming for “Interview with the Vampire”.

Hedi Slimane

For Gaycondo readers not in the know, the man to your right is none other than seminal designer Hedi Slimane. He first gained major recognition when he became the head creative director and designer at Cristian Dior. In 2000, he created Dior Homme, a new line for the house that was very heavily influenced by the world of rock music. He is best known for his slim silouettes, inky/waxed denim, long coats, high collars, and leather bombers.

I was fortunate enough to meet Mr. Slimane (true story) early in the Spring of 2007 here in Portland Oregon while he was shopping in my store. I was so star struck and disoriented while speaking with him, that it didn’t occur to me to inquire about why exactly he was in Portland (I know, I know. Portland is fucking awesome…. But we are not a city that is regularly visited by fashion world heavy hitters). Shouldn’t he be in Europe somewhere designing his 2008 collections or something?

As soon as I got home, I of course went into heavy internet stalking mode trying to discover his reasons for visiting my fare city. While I didn’t find anything out about a secret Portland runway show or anything, I did learn that Slimane had just that week been officially ousted from Dior!

Douche

It turns out that he had been seeking more creative freedom within Dior, and was hoping to design a woman’s line under his own signature (i.e. it would be called Hedi Slimane, not Dior). The head honchos at Dior were not pleased, and apparently thought that the “Slimane” name was not commercially valuable enough to invest all that extra money in.

RETARDS!

Enter Kris Van Assche, the douche bag (or maybe “Assche Hole”??) to your left. After kicking Slimane to the curb, the reigns of Dior were handed over to him and his creative vision. Bad choice Dior. We just recently got to see Van Assche’s first collection for Dior Homme (Fall 08), and let’s just say, it is looking a little more Anne Rice than New York rock and roll.

For your consideration, examine the following: 

First off, Hedi Slimane:

Two looks by Hedi Slimane

Seriously Slimane, you fucking kick my ass.

Second, Kris Van Assche:

Kris Van Assche for Dior Homme

Seriously Van Assche, are you fucking kidding me? Are you going to drink my blood or what?

p.s. you are a douche.

images via men.style.com

3 Responses to “Jon: We finally get a chance to see what Kris Van Assche is up to at Dior…”


  1. April 5, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Hi Jon, I’m a fashion lover, but don’t know that many designers…does Galliano still design for Dior? He’s my all-time fave.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    April 6, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Galliano does their mainline collection (Dior), and Slimane used to design the menswear off shoot, Dior Homme. My understanding is that one of the main reasons Slimane was fired/quit was that he wanted to start his own women’s collection for Dior. My gut feeling tells me that Galliano wasn’t to happy about that.


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!