02
May
08

Jon: Guy Ben-ner’s Ikea sitcom….

jonheader.jpg

….yet another example of me being slow on actualizing my ideas.

 

About two or so months ago, the four members of Gaycondo were perusing the aisles of our new local Ikea store. Being there is like a consumption explosion! So much stuff I don’t need… but it is SO cheap. It really brings out the consumer in me. Anyway, we were all secretly feeling a little guilty for being so materialistic, and discussion turned to the idea of finding ways to make the Ikea experience more creative and less consumptive. Several plans of action were verbalized, but my favorite idea (which, the narcissist that I am, was my idea) was one in which we would write a script for a soap opera that would be filmed “on set” using Ikea’s model homes.

“What a brilliant concept!”, I thought. We could sneak the camera in and film the highly choreographed and organized show in less than a day!

What original gorilla film making!

Unfortunately, I have a habit of coming up with great ideas and then apathetically not acting on them. Boo on me.

I have been beaten to the punch by Israeli fim maker Guy Ben-ner. He created an 18 minute sitcom, Stealing Beauty, starring his wife and two children. It was shot (without permission) entirely within Ikea stores thoughout the world. 

Here is a short preview of the film:

I love all the random bystanders that wander into the shots.

Anyway, lesson learned….

Ben-Ner was recently profiled in New York Magazine because of his amazing idea. That could have been me. Next time I am out getting drinks with friends and spout a genious thought, I’m going to act on it.

Fifteen minutes, here I come!

 

2 Responses to “Jon: Guy Ben-ner’s Ikea sitcom….”


  1. 1 gaycondo
    May 2, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    yeah. we all let that slip by. god dammit.

    -EM

  2. 2 micaela
    January 2, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I know, I thought of the same idea too…


Leave a Reply

