04
Jun
08

Jon: …and the celesbian train rolls on…

jonheader.jpg

…Ellen Paige is one sexy bitch.

***NOTE: IN THE PROCESS OF RESEARCHING THIS POST, I FOUND OUT THAT ELLEN PAIGE IS MAYBE NOT GAY AND APPARENTLY THERE WAS THIS WHOLE THING ABOUT IT ON SNL OR SOMETHING… BUT WHATEVER***

Yeah yeah, I know. I am maybe the last person in America to see the movie Juno. I just got it from Netflix though, and thought it was pretty marginally an okay movie. Not a  “see it twice” film, but enjoyable…

However, from when I started watching it, I couldn’t shake the feeling that something was kind of….off

It took me until about fifteen minutes into the story to place it, but then it became glaringly clear: Juno/Ellen Paige is totally gay. Genetically gay in fact. This truth became so overwhelming to me that I was unable to view the character as anything but a closeted future queer. I mean, come on, right? She totally dumped that Arrested Developement kid as soon as the credits finished rolling….

Juno=Gay

 I have always had conflicted feelings on this topic. I really do believe that being queer is genetic and that we are not only a cultural group, but also (and admittedly in a postmodern way) for lack of a better word an ethnic group.

So, if Ellen Paige can’t (for the nature of who she is) play straight any more convincingly than a black actor could play white, does this mean that casting choices like this are an assault on queer cultural identity???

OR

would NOT casting her because she is gay be worse?

What do you think?

 

3 Responses to “Jon: …and the celesbian train rolls on…”


  1. June 5, 2008 at 5:29 am

    I agree, it was a marginally good movie, and as soon as I started watching. I was confused. I wasn’t sure if she was gay, or if the character or JUNO was gay or what. Whatever it was there was definitely a lot of gayness going on.

  2. 2 The Bearded Traveler
    June 5, 2008 at 8:13 am

    I’m just glad you both didn’t LOVE it. Almost everyone I see writing about it says they LOVE it. I really hated it; I mean, the characters either seemed 1) bitchy and sarcastic, 2) meanly depicted as clueless lesser humans that we should all mock (ex.- J Garner, the anti-abortion girl, the clinic receptionist). It seemed very mean-spirited to me. I understand that the characters were supposed to get better, wiser, “learn life lessons,” as the film went on, but I was so turned off after 1/2 hour that I left the theater.

    Getting to your question, it seems justified by the fact that the people I know who love this movie most are my lesbian and FTM-trans friends on LiveJournal.

    Minor stickler point- it’s “Page,” not “Paige,” just sayin’…

    (fwiw, I didn’t/couldn’t look at Juno sexually. EP looks about 12-yrs-old to me in the film.)

  3. 3 gaycondo
    June 5, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Juno would have been a great film if Juno was a lesbian and the boy with the yellow shorts was an andro fag and the story wasn’t about teen pregnancy. EM


Leave a Reply

