07
Jun
08

Jon: “Pass This On” by The Knife….

jonheader.jpg

I manage a retail store here in Portland, and though I really do love my job, I get totally bummed out by our music situation. Every month we get an MP3 cd in the mail with maybe 100 songs on it. The songs play in a loop for the entire month.

I know what you are thinking, “100 songs? That a ton of music! How could you get worn out on it!”

Well, I do. And it doesn’t help that 80% of the music is unlistenable to begin with. Think faux emotional crescendo skate punk… Luckily, there are always a few musical gems on the disc that introduce me to something new I can fall in love with. This month, my new discovery is The Knife. Their song “Pass This On” is definitely my music highlight for the work day.

This morning it occurred to me that there is most likely a video for this song, and TA DA, there was! This film is like what would happen if all of photographer Wolfgang Tillmans’ models were cast as the leads in a new David Lynch movie.

And yes, its pretty fucking amazing.

I love that moment at 2:17!

 

Oh, and if you are wondering to yourself, “Is that a drag queen?”, it is.

But guess what? It’s just an actor, not the actual singer. I read up on it (thanks wikipedia!) and it turns out that the brother/sister duo that makes up The Knife is vehemently opposed to being photographed or performing live. Apparently, they are known for wearing masks or gorilla suits whenever they must appear as celebrities in public. In fact, in the past they have even sent actors to pose as them when giving acceptance speeches at award shows.

Crazy!

6 Responses to “Jon: “Pass This On” by The Knife….”


  1. 1 EM
    June 7, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    a definite similarity to Hedwig.

  2. 2 thehostess
    June 10, 2008 at 8:16 am

    shoot…it says that the video is no longer available…Do you think The Knife called You tube and said take us off or else? I’m going to go waste time on the internet and try to find them…I’m too curious now!

  3. 3 thehostess
    June 10, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I found it!!! oh yeah baby…

  4. 4 The Bearded Traveler
    June 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I’m riding on a camel
    that has big eyes.

    The buildings are changing
    into coconut trees,
    little by little.

    When a black cat
    crosses my path,

    a woman in the moon
    is singing to the earth.

  5. 5 mika
    August 11, 2010 at 4:20 am

    yeah, they lay low but there both in the video themselves.


Leave a Reply

