16
Jun
08

Paul: M.I.A. Retires from Music…

…this is truly a sad day!

I have to confess that I don’t actually own any of her albums or support her financially in any way, but this still makes me sad. Even though I am not a patron of her music I think that her retirement leaves a serious void in pop music. I mean seriously, we are going to be waiting a loooooong time for the next Sri Lankan female artist to rise to international stardom. Her success has truly been quite a feat, and she has maintained complete creative control throughout everything. Whether you like her style or not, we should all at least be glad that she’s out there.

The good news is that M.I.A. (aka Maya Arulpragasam) will continue to focus on her visual art and her soon to be released clothing line. I actually can’t wait to see the clothes. This is the only photo I could find that’s been sent out the the press.

Pretty bold shit, right? Everyone knows that the 90’s are back, but those are some bad-ass JJ Fad looking clothes. It screams 1992, and frankly I love it.  Hopefully in spite of her leaving the music business she will continue to be a fashion icon. Check her out back in this 2004 video for Galang, she looks fierce.

0 Responses to “Paul: M.I.A. Retires from Music…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

