22
Jun
08

Paul: Music Video Monday…

…Sonic Youth – Cinderella’s Big Score

 I read recently  about a new Sonic Youth compilation to be sold exclusively at Starbucks, I don’t think it’s out yet but it will be soon. I think it’s a part of Starbucks’ big effort to improve their image, and I don’t fault Sonic Youth for it or give a shit whether they are selling out or not. It is really quite a compliment to be asked to do something like this, and I just hope they are getting paid well for it. The cd is called Hits for Squares, and various celebrities were asked to pick their favorite Sonic Youth tune. They explain their choice in liner notes. Here’s a few of their picks:

  • Portia de Rossi – Dissapearer
  • Catherine Keener – Bull in the Heather
  • Michelle Williams – Shadow of a Doubt
  • Chloe Sevigny – The World Looks Red

Cinderella’s Big Score is one of my favorites, because I’m a sucker for Kim Gordon’s wierd vocals. Plus, it has a really good low-budge video, enjoy!

2 Responses to “Paul: Music Video Monday…”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    June 23, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Cool for Portia; I almost put that song on a jukebox Friday night.

    “CBS” is a great song, too. it’s one of the few songs that Kim sings
    that… she sings, if you catch my drift.
    Usually, she chooses between “good/brutal vocals” and “bad/brutal vocals.”
    “Tunic” was good too. “Goo.” “Kool Thing.” Goo= a good album for Kim vocals.

    I like the video for “Scooter & Jinx.”
    I was obsessed with Linda Serbu for like years from that video!!

    Fave Goo videos=
    1 “Disappearer”
    2 “CBS”
    3 “Dirty Boots”
    4 “Mildred Pierce”

  2. 2 The Bearded Traveler
    June 23, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    ps – If I was famous, my pick would be….

    “Xpressway”

    …or “Hey, Joni”


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!