16
Jul
08

Jon: Best drummer ever…

jonheader.jpg

For casual Gaycondettes (that’s what I’m calling all you readers now…), it may be new information that I am a pretty fucking awesome drummer. Not to toot my own horn too loudly, but yeah, it’s true: I’m pretty bad ass… But no, I am not the most bad ass drummer of all time… That title if officially held by Rachel Carns, drummer of one of my favorite metal bands of all time, The Need.

When I was about 17 years old I stole my parents car and went to New York City to see The Need play at Sarah Lawrence College. It was fucking amazing. In my top ten shows of all time for sure… On the way home I got totally lost, and was driving aimlessly on the New Jersey high way system till 5am. I literally became so tired that I began hallucinating and at one point thought I saw Jesus hovering in the road in front of me. No joke.

Of course, I totally got caught by my parents who then grounded me for two months. But was it worth it?

Fuck Yeah.

Watch this amazing video of Rachel playing the song “Dark Sally” from  the Need’s second and last album, aptly titled The Need is Dead,  and prepare to have your brain explode.

 

3 Responses to “Jon: Best drummer ever…”


  1. 1 EM
    July 17, 2008 at 11:54 am

    ah the need. my first band obsession. radio looks so young in that video! and yes, rachel carns is totally bad ass…i mean, she stands up while she plays and i heard that once she duct taped a microphone to her face.

  2. 2 action
    July 17, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Could anything be more badass? I think not!

  3. July 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Two months, eh? Not bad.

    Thanks for introducing The Need to me back in the day. I need to get their CDs back in the car rotation!


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!