28
Jul
08

Jon: Crying, over you…

jonheader.jpg

..my favorite scene from one of my favorite films.

I’m sure most of you have seen the film Mulholland Drive by now, but I just wanted to remind you of this scene, featuring what is for me the most effective use of music in any film ever:

The first time I saw David Lynch’s Mulholland Drive was a rather postmodern experience. I was on an official date (the last pre-Paul one I ever had. It’s been 6.5 years now) of movie and a dinner. We were at a small independant theater in western MA, with maybe 5 other strangers. We both ended up breaking down in tears just like the characters.

It was wierd.

And maybe the most visceral movie going moment I have ever had…

This scene is of course the key to understanding the whole (non-linear) film. It has to do with false representions and fantasy and all this other stuff that is impossible to explain if you haven’t seen the movie. Regardless, I think that Rebekah Del Rio’s spanish version of Roy Orbinson’s hit song is not reliant in cinematic context to be a moving piece of art.

 To see Roy Orbinson performing the original English version of this song live in 1972, click below….

 

 

Enjoy.

1 Response to “Jon: Crying, over you…”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    August 1, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I went to see Mulholland Drive at a newly-opened TOTALLY SUBURBAN stripmall theater that started to show what were art movies for the suburbs: Festival Express, Italian For Beginners… yeah, so this stout lil manager came out to kind of (it seemed) warn people that Mulholland Drive was going to be “…. it’s kinda interesting.” He was warning people it was TOO WEIRD!

    I guess my fave scenes are… the behind the diner!
    And the ringing phones. Very secretive!!
    And the meeting with the big cowboy!
    He looked kinda dead and with WOOLLY CHAPS, right?
    I have not seen it IN a while!!


Leave a Reply

