30
Aug
08

Jon: I love you Buddy Cole…

jonheader.jpg

One of my favorite shows to watch growing up was Kids in the Hall, a canadian sketch comedy show that ran in heavy syndication on Comedy Central during the mid to late 90’s. I probably saw every episode ten times, and eventually began memorizing entire scenes. I know,  how total dorky fan boy of me.

What set Kids in the Hall apart from it’s contemporaries was that, even at it’s crudest moments (of which it had numerous) it never sacrificed it’s intelligence and depth of character. In addition, the show always portayed gender and sexuality variants in a way that was respectful and (for the time) quite radical. As a queer teen without exposure to many positive examples of queers in the media (outside of music), this show was really exciting to watch.

My favorite character has always been Buddy Cole, the faggot bar owner famous for his brassy and witty monologues. While the subjects he spoke about tended to be on the negative side, he never lost his optimism that the world was trully a wonderful place to be.

Buddy Cole, in my opinion, is a member of a very small group of queer TV personalities that represent our community in a positive and realistic light. I know a lot of people probably disagree with me on that, but I would rather have a smart, brassy, funny, offensive, lisping faggot represent me than the dead below the waste straight-washed fair we are usually offered (hello Will Truman).

Watch this, one of his first appearances, as well as several others after the jump Oh, and if you have traded your sense of humor in for a badge of political correctness, you may not want to watch…..

 

4 Responses to “Jon: I love you Buddy Cole…”


  1. August 30, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I tried nearly in vain to come up with a short list of queer characters on television that were both sexually active and not just a PSA about the dangers of homo promiscuity. Whew, slim pickins’

    Matthew Rhys (as Kevin Walker) on Brothers and Sisters (abc)
    pretty much anyone on the cast of Ugly Betty (hmm abc again)

    um well then everything else is on cable …

  2. 2 gaycondo
    August 30, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I should also add “smart” to my list of positive qualities about Buddy. I will give the character of Jack on W&G some credit for being sexual and funny, but he is meant to be seen as a foolish jester, which, yes, is funny, but still not a good representation. The same can be said of what’s his name on Ugly Betty. He is a completely two dimensional character, and sort of jester-ish. Excpt for those two episodes where they gave him a fat boyfriend and tried to give him a heart. But I guess it wasn’t good for ratings, because they put an end to that story immediately…
    rant…
    blah…
    rant…

  3. August 30, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    AH HA! I knew you watched Ugly Betty! That was a trap! Also Mark was only tolerable in those episodes because of his totally awesome fat boyfriend. I have a real deep dislike for Will & Grace. I feel it did the gay male population of America a terrible disservice by convincing women every where they were owed a cute single gay friend to be their “walker” when they needed on. It was a sexless parody and also devolved into a tepid version of The Object Of My Affection which is a really moving novel (and so-so film).
    Also they passed over Out actor John Barrowman (of Doctor Who/Torchwood, De-Lovely) for the role of Will because he tested too straight so they hired a straight man instead…. hmmmm yeah.

  4. August 31, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    KIDS IN THE HALL… always a good time!


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!