04
Sep
08

Jon: Marc by Marc Jacobs ads, not radical OR fashionable….

jonheader.jpg

…I really WANT to love everything you do Marc, but I just can’t get behind you on this one.

Let me preface this post by saying that I truly believe that Marc Jacobs is one of the greatest fashion talents of our time. He consistently designs, season after season, cohesive and forward thinking collections. His ideas on fashion generally tend to be dead on, and we should all be so lucky to have such a strong style aesthetic.

That being said, I think my own insticts and opinions on fashion developments are pretty fucking accurate too, so I find it strange to suddenly be at odds with Jacobs choice in presentation for his Fall ’08 Marc by Marc diffusion collection.

For the current season, Jacobs has decided to use male models in the ad campaign for his women’s collection. That’s right, men in women’s clothing: breast darts, short hemlines and all. And not suprisingly, the results are not so stellar.

If it was 20 years ago, I might be applauding Jacobs on his daring play on gender expression. But it’s 2008 people. Extreme gender play in fashion and art is nothing new or radical. Maybe if Jacobs had decided to use trans models I’d feel differently…. But this just feels like lazy, pandering, unoriginal “outside of the corporate box” art direction. Not to mention, the clothes are not even fitted properly for the models proportions… In fashion, fit is everything, and if it doesn’t look good on the model it doesn’t matter how “edgy” the campaign is. The clothes will still look bad. 

This is so tired!

Yawn…

Mega Yawn…

2 Responses to “Jon: Marc by Marc Jacobs ads, not radical OR fashionable….”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    September 5, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Ooh, see, I find these pics a turn-on x 1000
    soooo I dunno, I likee,
    but maybe that has naught to do
    with the biz of clothes-selling.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    September 5, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I kind of think they are a turn-on also. As much as it seems unoriginal I can’t think of anyone else who’s done the exact same thing. As Beth pointed out, it really feels reminiscent of the early-mid 90’s, which are totally hot right now. It’s not quite drag, it’s just a pretty boy in a pretty dress.

    -Paul


Leave a Reply

