20
Oct
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: HALLOWEENIE

As a kid, Halloween was my favorite holiday. I had a collection of scary masks and would plan out what I would be months in advance! Every year in middle school my posse of friends and I would get dropped off at a haunted house and scream our guts out after we had been chased by chainsaws. Afterwards we would go back and watch scary movies. Unfortunately, as an adult my dedication to costumes have lessened. I know, lame.

However, I do have a few Halloween traditions left including picking a pumpkin from the tangled fields of Sauvie’s Island and renting a few scary movies on Netflix. I have classic favorites such as the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Nightmare on Elm Street.

One of my favorites is the cult classic series, Sleepaway Camp. Like many horror movies and their million sequels, the Sleepaway Camp series centers around an outcast who finally sought revenge! In the first movie, main character Angela is sent to Camp Arawak where she is bullied for her shy demeanor. Eventually, campers and counselors begin to die in odd ways… ***SPOILER*** In the end we find out the killer is Angela whom turns out to be a boy named Peter! Apparently, the “real” Angela had passed away and her brother Peter was socialized to be a girl by his sick Aunt who was so upset about Angela’s death. Sorry to ruin it for you but that movie was a bit boring…

May as well just skip to my favorite of the series, Sleepaway Camp II: Unhappy Campers which is downright campy and hilarious! There isn’t anything really to give away…you know there will be blood, gore and a kill spree! After being released from a mental institution, post-op transsexual, Angela (from movie #1) becomes a camp counselor at Camp Rolling Hills. Turns out the psycho-therapy didn’t work out because Angela is ready to kill all the sex-obsessed hetero campers in a heartbeat!

Check out the trailer:

While Sleepaway Camp does seem to stereotype and even demonize homosexuality and trans issues I can’t decide if it is propaganda or done in good humor. Regardless, I still think the presence of these topics in the 80’s was revolutionary for it’s time. Looking back at my gay ass self at age 14, I think Sleepaway Camp was the first time I was introduced to trans issues

6 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: HALLOWEENIE”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    October 21, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I saw a couple of goofy horror movies in high school. One had the musician Jon-Mikl Thor in it (he’s a sort of… viking metal guy, but not death metal, more like… 1980s mainstream metal). Another was Slumber Party Massacre 2.

    NO, never saw the first one.

    …I’m gonna go out on a limb and say it wasn’t necessary.

    The killer was killing these, well, slumer party bimbos with a drill-guitar. Yes, a big drill… that was a guitar. Or a guitar that was a drill. And he looked I guess punky or metally, but he did a musical number, YES, a musical number while stalking victims… and it was SORT OF ELVIS-like. No, not Costello; yes, the other one. The passage of time prevents me from remembering if it was vaguely-Cramps-ish, or just FULL-ON cornball.

  2. 2 Leslie
    October 22, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    After months of my friend Erica telling me I should watch Sleepaway Camp, I finally did on Sunday! How strange you just happened to comment on it!! The movie is great in a terribly ‘campy’ and cheesy way- but the ending was so unexpected and awesome!! That face and those eyes just did it for me!! IT was worth the effort to watch the whole thing! Now on your recommendation, I will definitely watch # 2!

  3. 3 EM
    October 22, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Leslie – #2 is superior in hilarity…. you are gonna love it! be sure to share your fav moments with us!

  4. October 23, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    OMFG I LOVE THOSE MOVIES!!!! #2 has a ridiculous amount of unnessecery titty shots, which only add to the hilarity of course. Don’t fornicate!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 5 Leslie
    October 28, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Em- where can I find #2?? Hollywood vid ( where I got the 1st) doesn’t have it!! 😦

  6. 6 gaycondo
    October 29, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    if you are in portland : movie madness carries it


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 418,747 hits