01
Nov
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: My favorite childhood Horror-suspense flicks

Confession time: I have no vivid memory of seeing The Goonies.

On my behalf, I realize this simple fact is a social deflater in many of my conversations and I try to avoid it at all costs.

 Especially if:

A. a person I am speaking with happened to be born around 1980 or had a sibling born during this time. (I was the first born child during 1984 and thus have no recollect of this classic film due to a slight generational difference) 

OR……..

 B. if a person says one of their top 10 reasons for moving to Portland was because The Goonies was filmed in nearby Astoria, Oregon).

While The Goonies probably requires some sort of brain module to understand and remember, I was simply too young to seek out and appreciate.

When I was 8 years old, I would defintely say my favorite movie genre was horror-suspense. At this age, I hung out with my older cousins whom were interested in what they perceived to be “adult” film and novels, particularly those by Steven King. I tried to emulate their pre-teen bravery while I watched the terrifying clown-tastic, IT … yet in reality, I was scared shitless. In fact, based on this movie, I was introduced to my most memorable childhood nightmares.

Later on, my cousins and I watched another Steven King film, The Stand. This film dealt with the horrific possibility of the end of the modern world through the triumph of a highly contagious plague. Futhermore, the plague and destruction of humanity seemed to be moderated by  an illuminati of evil powers. Even today, I am still intrigued by this biological fatlity which could occur during our lifetime.

A fan made a short preview to this really loooong movie ::::::::::::

Looking back, I believe it was The Stand which made me interested in conspiracy theories, gruesome apocalypse and multi-dimensional epic TV shows like Lost.

On the other hand, I was an overt Disneyfag and thoroughly enjoyed innocent Disney-fied children’s “scary” movies such as Hocus Pocus, starring Bette Midler (duh!). However, my viewing tendancies weren’t so innocent seeing as I mostly watched Hocus Pocus to gay out to the “then-hardly-nobody” Sarah Jessica Parker. OH THE WHORE – I MEAN, HORROR!

2 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: My favorite childhood Horror-suspense flicks”


  1. 1 Leslie
    November 1, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    While I can understand being shitlessly scared watching horror flicks, I somehow could not control my urge to rent them – repeatedly – from when I was 12 until now. It is my escapism and to this day (as I have become mostly numb to being frightened) I still get the willies from Salem’s Lot (made for TV original) – you know, the scene where the floating and very dead little brother tries to get the older brother to open the window? For some reason I love to torture myself with that scene!! Perhaps one might call it “media masochism.” BTW – The Stand is awesome!

  2. 2 EM
    November 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    media masochism, ha!


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!