08
Nov
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE : Alanis Morissette

I’ve decided that I legitimately enjoy Alanis Morissette, rather than keeping her at bay on my ironic guilty pleasures list.

She just came to Portland a few days ago! My friend, Kat, is friends with her touring bass player so we got some sweet 3rd row seats! In fifth grade I was O-B-S-E-S-S-E-D with Jagged Little Pill.

Hearing it was a pivotal moment for me because she was the first woman performer that showed me that woman can get angry! Her hit song, “You Oughta Know” is the first song I learned to play drums to. It’s hard to believe that Jagged Little Pill came out back in 1995 when Alanis was a year younger than I am now. According to Wikipedia, “Jagged Little Pill sold thirty million worldwide, making it the third biggest selling album by a female artist, and the biggest selling debut album of all time.” Even if you relate Morissette’s distinct hollers to nails on a chalkboard, you can’t deny the bold step she made for women in music.

While watching her live all of the words I used to sing came back to me. It’s strange how your brain files away things you haven’t referenced in 10 years.

I’m sure you all have your memories of Alanis Morissette. Instead of featuring a video from the iconic Jagged Little Pill listen to a live version of “Uninvited”, a song Morissette wrote for the City of Angels soundtrack and won two Grammys in 1998 including Best Rock Song and Best Female Rock Vocal Performance. She opened the Portland show with this song and it gave me chills.

God damn! If you think Morissette is only a melodramatic queen check out her sense of humor in a tounge in cheek video, “My Humps”

0 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE : Alanis Morissette”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

