11
Nov
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Gays have less rights than animals in California

Writing for a blog called Gaycondo, there should be no surprise that I am still bummed about Proposition 8.
To add to our frustration, Beth just brought more of California’s ballot results to my attention, which makes me even more ill….

“Prop 2 creates a new state statute that prohibits the confinement of farm animals in a manner that does not allow them to turn around freely, lie down, stand up, and fully extend their limbs.”

moo
California voters passed Proposition 2 with a favorable 63.2% result. Don’t get me wrong – I have seen how poorly animals are treated in parts of California. In fact, I remember driving on the inland 15 North on my way to Los Angeles passing cattle farms that crammed cows together as they stepped through their own shit and mud. This part of California is very hot and the stench was unbearable for miles. Between the cattle farms and SoCal’s excessive driving culture there is major pollution. The smog is so thick I didn’t even realize there was a huge mountain for several trips on this route until I saw the peak of the mountain hovering over a blanket of brown smog.

So yeah, animal cruelty is bad and I totally support Prop 2 blah.. blah.. blah..

I just think it is screwed that a measure regarding animal rights passed while a measure regarding GLBT HUMAN rights failed.

Apparently, queer rights activists in California are doing visual demonstrations by locking themselves up in cages to illustrate how fucked it is to have animals receive more rights than them in this past election.

0 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Gays have less rights than animals in California”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

