12
Nov
08

Jon: Ginger Anyhow’s “You Fell Asleep Watching a DVD”

Multi media artist Ginger Anyhow has created several different projects that play with the way we as a culture have emotionally normalized the technology in our life. She accomplishes this by refining common, almost organic interactions with technology to their simplest forms. One of Anyhow’s more compelling projects tells the story of a love/hate relationship entirely through text messages which have been embroiderred on fabric.

My favorite of her projects though is You Fell Asleep Watching a DVD. It eerily and accurately recreates the experience of (duh) waking up after having fallen asleep watching a DVD. We have all had this groggy late night experience.

It is disorienting. It is kind of gross. It is definitely a little depressing.

CHECK IT OUT! http://youfellasleepwatchingadvd.com/

dvd

Thanks to Katherine Dexter for leading me in the right direction

2 Responses to “Jon: Ginger Anyhow’s “You Fell Asleep Watching a DVD””


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    November 15, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    No self-respecting drinker mixes Guinness with Bud!! haha

  2. 2 The Bearded Traveler
    November 15, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    ps – Strangely, this has never happened to me.
    I don’t think I’ve even let a VHS tape reel to the end, although I prob
    HAVE back in my teen years.
    I’ve always caught myself nodding in the middle of films, and then just
    gone to bed.
    I’m very sad to say this happened BOTH times I tried to watch Dave Lynch’s
    INLAND EMPIRE (once high, once sober), so I never finished it before needing
    to take it back. I will say the first couple hours SEEM good!! To this day, I
    can’t believe how FEW people notice this movie’s existence… but then, even
    I haven’t finished it (not due to lack of quality).


Leave a Reply

