13
Nov
08

Jon: Tragic Zombies…. The Moves

So I am taking a note from Em, whose Tragically Unheard Of blog posts are an inspiration to us all. Exposure for under appreciated bands is great, but what about bands that broke up before they got a chance? Don’t they deserve to be remembered?

I think so.

This week’s Tragic Zombie is The Moves, a band from my old pre-Portland stomping grounds, Northampton Massachusetts. They were on defunct queer record label Mr. Lady, and I was a little obsessed with them when I was 18. Here is a video of them performing there ode to the film “Heavenly Creatures” at a club in Houston.

*side-note*- When I lived in Northampton I worked at a candy store called Sweeties. Members of this band would come in and I would get nervous and pretend I didn’t know who they were, but I would still under charge them for their candy. True story.

3 Responses to “Jon: Tragic Zombies…. The Moves”


  1. November 13, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    hey jon —

    first i totally think you should post it on the blog. everyone needs to see it!

    second i love your new fav. outfit. totally cute.

    your friend
    katie (katherine) dexter

  2. November 13, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Sigh. They were so good.

  3. November 25, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Hi Jon-
    I have known about this blog for a year, but hadn’t looked at it until just now. Sorry.
    I remember and still love the moves. I remember thinking playing a show with them would make us such rock stars, although I don’t even think they were a band by the time we started our band.
    Remember how we used to try and influence people’s music tastes by driving down Main Street with all the windows down blasting the queerest music we could find? We should do that again some day.
    My band wants to play west coast shows in 2009. Let’s book something together and then cover some embarrassing song we wrote when we were 18 years old.

    xo
    Heather


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!