29
Nov
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Promiscuous Bath

In an attempt to describe the work of Matthew Barney, my friend Carlos Rodela explained he was “similar to David Lynch…if David Lynch was on heroin.” From my limited viewing record of Barney’s highly cerebral films and from what I hear about the out of body experience associated with opiates, I feel Rodela did a pretty good job.

I came across Matthew Barney because of his spouse (and my favorite singer), Bjork. In addition, it is because of her that I gave him a second and a third and a fourth chance and will probably continue to pretend his work is revolutionary and unpretentious seek out his work and understand his genius. Needless to say, Barney’s work isn’t the most accessible – in understanding or even finding for that matter.

The film I am most interested in finding is Drawing Restraint 9 which Bjork plays a lead role and scores the musical soundtrack. I am under the impression the layman’s premise of the film documents the “restraint” found between rituals before marriage and the emotions one has about the ceremony’s importance. However, I’m having a hard time justifying it against the abstract synopsis found on Wikipedia. Thoughts?

Here is a rather dream like clip from Drawing Restraint 9 where Bjork is bathed in a tub with floating lemons… I’m not quite sure on the context of the scene, yet I find it to be equally beautiful and disturbing.

1 Response to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Promiscuous Bath”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    December 2, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    It’s not a bad little music short film. I don’t know
    if it emotionally resonates, but it looks good.
    Also (someone has to say it)- Bjork’s butt! yaaay


Leave a Reply

