04
Dec
08

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: MUSE SICK #2 :: “Good Fortune” by PJ HARVEY

In the second Muse Sick, I will continue to explore my favorite songs with “Good Fortune”, written/performed by PJ Harvey. Off of 2000’s Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea, this tune appears in the vital second track slot following the amped up opener, “Big Exit”.

Usually, when I listen to music I ignore the lyrics because I am too captivated by the melody of the human voice and instrumentation. Yet, occasionally the art of story telling slips in and catches me off guard in the song’s narrative.

Lyrics:
Threw my bad fortune Of the top of A tall building
I’d rather have done it with you
Your boy’s smile Five in the morning
Looked into your eyes And I was really in love

In Chinatown / Hung over
You showed me / Just what I could do
Talking about Time travel

And the meaning Just what it was worth

And I feel like Some bird of paradise
My bad fortune slipping away
And I feel the Innocence of a child
Everybody’s got something good to say

Things I once thought / Unbelievable In my life / Have all taken place
When we walked through Little Italy I saw my reflection Come right of your face

I paint pictures To remember You’re too beautiful To put into words
Like a gypsy You dance in circles All around me
And all over the world

So I take my Good fortune And I fantasize Of our leaving
Like some modern-day Gypsy landslide
Like some modern day Bonnie and Clyde

On the run again
On the run again

“Good Fortune” seams to slip into my life at the best moments. It is a brief occurrence, where something simple in the song’s jangly optimism radiates within my being.

Yes, a mildly metaphysical notion…
(ie. I always associate this embrace of music with my reactions to horoscope… Not necessarily based on fact but every now and again seems more relevant – in psychic arrest with my present mindset tangoing with my ipod)

The song usually pops into my lobes when I am having an especially good day and reminds me of people who make me happy like those who seek to the possibilities beyond ourselves, balloons flying upward, dancing in fields, meteors vs. planes, dehydrated in smothering subways, reflections in sunglasses, glory of the muse, seeing the world with your lover, celebrating innovation, wandering through the city boots clicking on the rain stained sidewalks…and the edge to always be on the run towards the unknown.

0 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: MUSE SICK #2 :: “Good Fortune” by PJ HARVEY”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 418,745 hits