21
Dec
08

Jon: Paul and I saw “Milk” last night and it was pretty good…

…but has anyone else noticed that playing gay…

milk1

…is totally the new playing retarded?

milk2

Can we please start castin gay, lesbian, and trans actors in mainstream queer cinema already?

4 Responses to “Jon: Paul and I saw “Milk” last night and it was pretty good…”


  1. 1 Nate
    December 21, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    When I saw the trailer for Milk I said the same thing in my brain, and out loud to friends. Then I thought about it a bit. If queer actors always played queer roles, a lot of them would be type-cast as only playing queer characters. What REALLY needs to change first is that more queer characters need to exist in big films so that wouldn’t be a concern/problem. Also, can we please have a major motion picture that is queer-posi that doesn’t involve tragic death? Please?!? Can we have Beautiful Thing II in 2009 or something?

  2. 2 gaycondo
    December 21, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I’m not defacto against straight folks playing gay. I just think that a film that is sort of a gay-exploitation film (before I get a million angry responses to that comment, I mean that it is a film that derives a lot of it’s power by playing to straight liberal guilt and to queer folks sentementality. it is valuable largely do to it’s “exploiting” of these emotions) should at least put money into the pockets of gay folks. let’s keep any profit from our civil rights struggle in our own bank accounts.
    I know that for a lot of reasons it is not a completely fair comparison, but this trend feels a smidge like when white actors in silent films would play the black parts by wearing black-face. I think the absolute worst example of this in recent history was the casting of felicity huffman in “Trans America”. It is disgusting that they didn’t cast an actual trans person in that part. And then she wins all these awards…
    It’s like when Charlize Theron won all those awards for monster (another queer story told without queer actors) because they made her look ugly and everyone was all “omg! she is ugly! what a brilliant performance!”. I mean, should straight people profit off of treating our culture as a gimmick to win awards (which I am positive Sean Penn will…)

    ugg.
    ***rant over***

    ps: I totally agree about the whole “gay tragedy” trend… I vote for Beautiful Thing II as well!

  3. 3 EM
    December 22, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    yeah, and if there is another movie made about a teenage coming out experience i will barf.

    how about a movie that is set around the PLOT rather than the character’s sexuality?

  4. 4 The Bearded Traveler
    December 24, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I guess “Go Fish” didn’t end tragically… but there aren’t too many films
    I can name, no.

    fwiw, I didn’t like Transamerica at all, and like… 90% of my Youtube
    friends are trans. I just didn’t like the substance of the movie- the
    script or the performances. I tuned out pretty early. Bully for her
    awards, I guess! I didn’t have much interest in Monster. Like you said,
    could a POSITIVE no-death no-murder gay film please step up to the camera?


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!