12
Jan
09

Jon: Just Go with the Flo……

Over the past several months, I have slowly found myself falling more and more for a woman who has recently entered my life. She is quirky, energetic, witty, has great style, and looks more than just a little like indie film darling Maggie Gyllenhaal. Basically, she is the ideal lady friend.

Unfortunately, she is fictional, and not even in a cool way. She is Flo, the spokeperson for Progressive Auto Insurance. She exists in some sort of etherial auto insurance / grocery store in the sky where sassy alternative girls from the mid-nineties make you laugh while you purchase piece of mind…. EXAMPLES:

flo

Anyway, after having seen these commercials for so long I started wondering, “Who is this delightful woman?”

I did some research and it turns out that Flo is portrayed by comedian Stephanie Courtney, a member of famed improv group The Groundlings. She has also been on a bunch of sub-par TV shows as well as some movie with Ben Stiller I have never heard of.

Don’t worry about her future though! I have a feeling that she is going to be getting some better roles in soon, and not just as a spokeswoman for yawn inducing products. Fun fact: if you type the phrase “who is the girl…” into google, the second predictive it comes up with is “who is the girl in the progressive commercials”. No joke! If that many people are looking to find out who she is just from a TV commercial, I doubt it will be too long before we are seeing her on SNL or as the quirky best friend in a gay focused sitcom. At the very least, expect to start seeing drag queens performing as her very very soon…

Thoughts? Am I the only one who finds her so endearing?

Am I just being a total fag or what?

6 Responses to “Jon: Just Go with the Flo……”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    January 13, 2009 at 4:05 am

    In college, I used to like this woman (Kay? not sure of the name)
    who was a spokes-fake-employee for a grocery store called-
    The Grocery Store
    (pronounced “THEEEE grocery store”)
    My roommates heckled me for liking her.

  2. January 16, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I love her too, and seeing my name in the commercial is a real treat – I am SCOTT K! Sometimes it seems like Eugene, Oregon is the center of the world. Maybe it is.

  3. 3 scottb
    May 19, 2009 at 9:50 am

    i am surprised that any of the late night hosts have not had Stephanie as a guest. I would like to see what she looks and acts like in real life…

  4. 4 Bobby2009
    May 26, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    She is a delight. A talent. And she touches that little bit of latent unchained enthusiasm in all of us. Love her!

  5. 5 Shyguy6041
    August 29, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Hi,
    I like to think Stephanie Courtney is going to follow in the footsteps of Nancy Travis (currently starring on “the Bill Engvl(?) Show”. Nancy started a long time ago selling Canada Dry ginger ale. She was cute, sexy, very “real”, and totally captivating when her “husband” asked if they were going out and she replied, “No, We’re staying home……again!” Look at her now! (big role…”Three Men and a Baby”).
    I love “Flo”! All of the best to her!

  6. August 29, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I think the casting was perfect. Clearly she pulled it off, revlon make-up and all. I hope Progressive is paying her well.


Leave a Reply

