22
Jan
09

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Gaycondo TV friends return!

This week has been full of excitement! After many months of sitting on the pot, W will be replaced by Barack Obama, the first person of color to lead America and hopefully change the world!

Shortly after his bold frollick in the name of queer representation in politics, the real-life drama of Portland gay-mayer elect, Sam Adams, unfolds causing respected queer alt weeklies to equate themselves as cashier check out tabloid trash!

However, aside from these monumental – historical – events in mass media let us not forget our television friends:

 The L-Word will conclude it’s millenial cult classic status with it’s 5th seson streak on Showtime. Their logo for this season is “This is the Life” and I thank the sapphic wo-moon that it ain’t my life. I am happy to be a voyeur snuggling with my live in lover than welcome such situations as a reality! Cause these girls are dramatic. Some of their backstabbing, vulva dripping drama may put Sam Adams protesters into a coma!

lword***SPOILER: We learn Jenny is dead. When a friend spilled the frijoles before the official screening I was in terror of the series lowering itself to the level of past seasons: lame-yet-aiming-to-be-comical array of ridiculous montages. I prefer to live through other people’s dramas – not Moulin-Rouge absurdity. 

Thankfully, after viewing the first episode, I was impressed how they handled the writing and production.

The L-Word has definitely affected soceity’s perceptions on what it is like to be a modern gay lady (ie. not all of us wear flannel and some of us wear lipstick) with some made for TV distortions (ie. not all of us are rich and get handed mind-exploding opportunities without any sort of context). One thing is for certain: the series certainly showed that women can eff each other and for that I say Hell Yeah!

 

lost

Jon and I are Lost freaks and I am proud to say I have finally recruited Beth (Paul still needs some work)… Lost is my favorite TV show (sorry L-Word, Weeds and Six feet Under). I won’t fully get into it here – such things must be saved when I hold you hostage to my theories or connect through our mutual love for the show.

As predicted with a show such as Lost, we never really know for sure what is going on. All I can tell you at this point is that I’m intrigued.

1 Response to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Gaycondo TV friends return!”


  1. 1 Leslie
    January 31, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I can’t wait to watch this last season but alas, I have to wait till it’s out on dvd because I am poor. Puh-leez tell me that that awful song intro from last season is gone. I really hated that.


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!