23
Jan
09

Jon: GO! GO! GO!

COME SUPPORT YOUR FANTASTIC MAYOR!

Unfortunately 3/4 of Gaycondo has work, but Jon will be

their with sometimes guest poster Nickey.

Come say hello and introduce yourself!

 

 

p.s. Did you know that super foxy/brainy writer Dan Savage will be there? AND Gus Van Sant? AND some other gay celebs, maybe even Sister Paula? Hopefully I will have some pics of myself with several Pacific power gays….

p.p.s. My beard will be there also, so if you are curious how that is going, you better show up…

5 Responses to “Jon: GO! GO! GO!”


  1. 1 The Bearded Traveler
    January 23, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Hey, don’t tempt me with your beard! As *I have to work, too.

    As of right now- I’ve read you all’s opinions, W Week, Merc, some of
    today’s Oregonian, many posts on W Week web. I tried reading Recall Sam
    Adams (I wanted a FULL opinion base), but they make you “register,” no
    thanks.

    I’m beginning to see the private-life-not-work component to this thing…
    and to answer Bill’s thing earlier, about whether it’d be okay for Sam to
    beging dating someone just before 18, then wait for sex *after 18th b-day in some sort
    of tacky rules-following thing, I say- for some folks, yeah. I wouldn’t. It’s
    tacky for me…but if he’s following the law, I mean, that’s HIS values and
    it’s not truly sick. I don’t equate it with the term “pedophilia.” It’s tacky, but
    I’m sure my representative politicians ARE NOT 100% compatible with me, morally.
    I’m sure Jeff Merkley and Obama don’t 100% share my beliefs (if they did, a queer & gender-
    identity-inclusive ENDA would have been railroaded into the Constitution by now!!),
    and I’m sure Merkley, Obama, Adams and I have all dated people with 4 different values
    systems in place.

    DON’T get me wrong.
    I’M MAD AT SAM.
    But should he be effectively FIRED for lying about something
    outside of work? ONLY if illegality can be proven.
    Otherwise, it might or not be icky BUT totally legal.
    At that point, you can decide for yourself if you’d support him,
    (and indeed maybe enough folks won’t to hurt his career)
    but the respect-for-privacy side is valid too.
    IT DOES MAKE ME WONDER how much he’ll lie about policy matters
    (heck, I already think all politicians do to varying extremes),
    but FIRING (which is what forced resignation is) seems strong,
    with what we know so far.

    I DO WANT AMY RUIZ investigated, too, cuz…that looks fishy.
    I might benefit from a description of her actual job duties,
    since I’ve heard varied things about WHAT the position IS. Amy says
    it’s mostly communications-related, but the title sounds otherwise.

    Anyway, to sum up, I have varied feelings about this. You have to understand,
    I didn’t vote for Sam (it’s a fiscal thing), but didn’t vote for Sho either.
    Sho was GLARINGLY incompetent. If you advocate for Sam’s firing (fair enough),
    I reply 1) we should wait for illegal-act evidence first; it’s the least that
    we’d need to fire someone 2) you’d have to wonder, with the total lack of
    a serious, qualified opponent in the election, WHO’D be mayor, then.

  2. 2 Bill
    January 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    When do you consider a non-professional relationship (abetted not physical) between a 17 year old and 42 year old to be preditor or acceptable- (either way, please exmplain)? It is not a question of values but a question of protecting vurnerable members of our population. If you have ever read Rousseau’s biography then you heard the story of him raising a young girl just so he could have sex with her when she became of age. So if Rousseau did not touch her until the age of consent, is what he did wrong? What if he just befriended the minor with the intent of only having sex with her when she became of age? Where is the line between icky and unacceptible? It may be a fine, blurry line for some, but protecting young people is most definitely a line worth preserving. Who knows what the young man’s life would be like if Adams actually did mentor him instead of the relationship it turned out to be.

    Oh and on the side: while I a trying to be polite and respectful in discussing this issue, I do not appreciate distracting comments like homophobes are the people making these arguments or it is somehow unacceptable to think this way (your values coming into play). You know who I am so if you think I am a homophobe or this is a values issue, you can e-mail directly and we can begin the discussion from there. I would have the discussion done directly rather than reading it in your blog.

  3. 3 Bill
    January 23, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    While 18 year olds can die for America in the armed forces, we in Portland still believe they should not be recruited to do so while they are under-age (i.e. military recruiters are not allowed in Portland schools issue). Is this a values discussion?

  4. 4 Em
    January 23, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    i think there are a lot of “what if”s going around – such a situation offers never never land sorts of fantasies for the mind to ponder.

    BUT….these are just imaginations playing games of morality.

    Until illegal actions have been PROVEN, let it go! There are far more productive things to do with energy.

    I personally don’t think I would put myself in Adams/Breedlove’s situation – and I feel bad that he did it because it does aid stereotypes and has ruined his reputation.

  5. 5 gaycondo
    January 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Hey, my friend had a REALLY good point about all this b.s. :

    “I think it’s funny that a president can’t be forced to resign for lying about motivation for a war in which thousands of civilians are killed, but gay scandals always turn into witch hunts.”

    RIGHT ON.


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 418,747 hits