24
Jan
09

Jon: Sam Adams “Don’t Resign” rally recap…

Wow! What an amazing rally!

Last night I went to the “don’t resign” rally in support of Portland Mayor Sam Adams, who is currently under attack by the local media for lying about a sexual relationship he had with and 18 year old friend in 2005. There were probably 400-500 people gathered outside city hall last night carrying signs and chanting to show that they are behind Adams getting back to work (a repeatedy shouted mantra throughout the evening). It was really inspiring, especially in light of how one sided the local press has been in making it appear as though everyone in Portland is against Adams. I feel like this was one of the first opportunities that myself and other like minded individuals have had the chance to get a pro-Adams message out there in the press. Luckily, the event was highly publicized and covered by the local media, being aired live on several local TV channels.

I was also absolutely THRILLED to get to meet author and sex advice columnist Dan Savage. He is one of my favorite non-fiction writers, and if you haven’t read any of his books yet your making a big retarded mistake. I had been hoping to get to meet him at the rally, and was shocked that I actually ended up bumping into him at a coffee shop near city hall. Luckily, I was with Andy and Taylor, my good friends over at Digging to China. I was so nervous upon approaching Savage that I became totally mute…. So really, it is not so much that I met Savage. It is more like I froze up and watched as my freinds met him… Anyway, it was still fantastic!

Here is video of Dan Savage speaking followed by some of my pictures from the evening….

Me with my sign:

jon-news

Oh my god, it’s me with with one of my favorite writers, the amazing Dan Savage!

And yes, he is just as dreamy up close as he is in his dust jacket photos….

jon-and-dan

Gaycondo super friend Nickey Robo posing with the opposite side of my sign

(it says “just” not “tust”):

nickey

Some other signs I liked:

signs

 

p.s. Until he announces whether he is resigning or not, I promise to get back to business as usual here at Gaycondo and not write about Adams every day…

8 Responses to “Jon: Sam Adams “Don’t Resign” rally recap…”


  1. January 25, 2009 at 11:15 am

    He’s announcing today he’s staying in office and will be back at work in the morning. However the Oregonian quoted Beau Breedlove saying the two made out while he was still 17 , once in his car and more tragically tacky, in the second floor men;s room of city hall after a party in Sam’s office (ie drunk)This is not good.

  2. January 25, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I saw you there. i just wish i could of got my picture taken with Dan Savage! i love him and all his books!

  3. 3 Anounymous
    January 26, 2009 at 8:47 am

    “After I learned for the first time that he was 17, I indicated to him that I was not interested in any sort of romantic relationship,” Adams said during his Tuesday news conference. Adams changed his account later that day before The Oregonian’s editorial board, saying they were attracted to each other during their first lunch meeting.

    On Saturday evening, Adams said he didn’t recall kissing Breedlove after that lunch. But Adams said that even if he did, his earlier denials stand.

    “I said that there was no sexual contact before he was 18,” Adams said. Asked again whether he kissed Breedlove, Adams replied: “I don’t remember, but if I did, it was not sexual contact.”

    Adams abruptly ended the conversation after five minutes and referred questions to his attorney, Robert Weaver. Weaver said that even if Adams kissed a 17-year-old Breedlove, Adams broke no laws.

    “There is nothing that (Breedlove) has said that is inconsistent with what the mayor has said,” Weaver said. “The mayor has said there was no sexual activity. Kissing is not sexual activity.”

    The distinction is important legally. State law says third-degree sexual abuse, which is a misdemeanor, can occur when someone subjects another person to “sexual contact” when the person either does not consent to the advance or is younger than 18. The law defines sexual contact as “any touching of the sexual or other intimate parts of a person … for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either party.” -The Oregonian

  4. January 26, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    san francisco’s sleazy mayor, gavin newsom, i think dated a 17-year old a few years ago. in public. unfortuntaley, he was not forced to resign.

  5. 5 wtf
    January 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Newsom actually dated a 19 year old and a couple other legal but scandalous things and now is a pollitical joke because of it

  6. 6 gaycondo
    January 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    mary, Adams has not been forced to resign and the odds of it happening are pretty questionable at this point. He went back to work today and I am glad. I agree that it’s tacky and incredibly sleazy, but I would rather judge a mayor on the merits of they leadearship on city issues. That’s why Adams was elected and I think given the chance he will prove to be a great mayor. And the Oregonian interview with Breedlove makes it clear that he is no victim.
    -Paul

  7. 7 not to incriminate myself or my first love
    January 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    I had my first sexual experience at age 15 with an 18 year old…technically statutory rape… but i ASSURE you I liked it and was responsible for instigating it…

    Luckily for the 18 year old I fucked, I didn’t pull a Breedlove – who is probably just bent out of shape for the relationship ending – and give the media a hard-on for scandal because like Breedlove, I was no victim.

  8. 8 Eddie
    January 31, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Hey dude, just wanted to drop a line and say how much I enjoy this blog, and it’s neat to see a pic of our common friend Nikki! Good job!
    eddie


Leave a Reply

