14
Mar
09

Jon: Hal Hartley’s “Opera No. 1″…

I’ve been watching all these great shorts by my favorite director Hal Hartley that someone recently posted (illegally?) on you tube. I had actually never seen Opera No. 1 (1994) before today. I have somewhat mixed feelings on the piece. While I love the music and the visuals, the story is a little bit *meh* and gets kind of confusing half way through. However, it is chocked full of endearing Hal Hartley-isms (repeated dialogue, the breaking of the “fourth wall”,  early 90’s hair) and features some of my favorite members of his rotating cast of actors.

If you haven’t seen his feature films yet (I recomend films “Trust”, “The Unbelievable Truth”, “Amateur”, and “Flirt”) and live in Portland, they have most of them at Movie Madness on SE Belmont.

 

2 Responses to “Jon: Hal Hartley’s “Opera No. 1″…”


  1. 1 Chris
    March 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    I also liked Henry Fool and No Such Thing.

    Don’t much like Simple Men or Fay Grim.

  2. January 4, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Aargh, it’s been removed! I’m a huge Hartley fan. We’re living in Berlin and hoping that he’ll want to do a music video with us.

    And I actually like all four films mentioned by Chris… I was very impressed with Fay Grim.

    I also post lots of weird and cool videos if you ever want to stop by my blog. I heard Portland has an amazing music/movie scene.


Leave a Reply

