14
Mar
09

Jon: Sexy scandal at The Portland Mercury?

Most of you who live in Portland probably already know that our local alternative weekly, The Mercury, recently released their annual sex issue. On the cover they put the two Portlanders that they had chosen as the city’s sexiest. The cover models were supposed to be chosen based on photographs that had been uploaded onto the Mercury’s flickr site they had set up for the contest. You can see all the submissions here.

Here is the photo of the male winner of the contest, local go-go dancer Scott Evans, that was featured in the issue:

sp2

When I saw this I thought to myself,  “Yeah, he’s pretty hot, but is this bro really the best Portland has to offer?”. So I headed over to the flickr site to check out the competition he was up against. I immediatly spotted this guy, and realized that something fishy was going on:

sp1

I mean, how could a foxy wierdo in spandex and a freak-folk vest not win? I mean, he is clearly a babe, right? And then it hit me….. While going through all the pisctures on the flickr page, I hadn’t seen a single one of Scott Evans! I double checked, but it just wasn’t there. I didn’t want to believe it, but it would appear that the Mercury has lead us astray…

Could it be that this contest was rigged?

4 Responses to “Jon: Sexy scandal at The Portland Mercury?”


  1. March 14, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    shock!!

    I was also a little disappointed at how obvious their choices were. Not that those people aren’t sexy, but c’mon, this is Portland… pick some interesting and weird people, too!

  2. 2 EM
    March 15, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    yeah I know I have seen some hotter people in Portland. What demographic are they reaching out to again?.

  3. 3 Chris
    March 22, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I missed the issue, being out of town.
    I didn’t do their lame pole cuz of all the Adams questions; it’s like
    they gave no thought to the issue before January ’09. :^P
    The questions aren’t much for thought, that I’ve ever seen.

  4. 4 zach
    March 23, 2009 at 3:58 am

    i think this is the winner’s blog–something i read every once in awhile..i think he is a recent portland transplant.

    http://www.scottanthony.org/


Leave a Reply

