22
Mar
09

Paul: Kim Gordon designs a Collection for Urban Outfitters…

img_1611

…and it’s pretty mediocre.

mirror-dash

Gordon’s new line Mirror/Dash shares it’s name with a Sonic Youth side project. While I only have the utmost respect for Kim Gordon herself, the clothes are just so so. There are a few pieces that are nice, but none of it’s very impressive. Perhaps it would have been better to do a line elsewhere that was more expensive. As far as I am concerned everything produced for Urban Outfitters is poorly made and poorly fitted. It’s Forever 21 quality, but it costs roughly 3 times as much, and once you wash something it never looks the same.

Apart from the quality,  if you watch the following video she says her inspiration is Francoise Hardy and other 60’s French singers. I am sorry, but I just don’t see it (with the exception of the one on the far right). While I don’t have much nice to say about the line, she looks fantastic. I hope I look as hot when I am 55.

On a side note, I was looking for photos of pieces from her old line X Girl but couldn’t find any. If someone knows where they are please let me know.

1 Response to “Paul: Kim Gordon designs a Collection for Urban Outfitters…”


  1. 1 Chris
    March 23, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Those are exceptionally bland, so yeah.
    The pics of Francois [sp?] Hardy seem to feature COOL 60s clothes, whereas
    the actual Mirror/Dash stuff looks like Donna Karan by way of The Gap…
    which is to say- exceptionally bland.

    Musicians making clothes; who else? I know Sean Combs, Jay Z, and
    uhh Sammy Hagar have done it… you mention X Girl. I know the Beastie
    Boys had that X large stuff, but… that was just lots of retro t-shirts,
    right?


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!