23
Mar
09

KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Sasquatch 2009

emglasses

A couple years ago a few friends and I went on a journey to Eastern Washington for the Sasquatch Festival to see Bjork. Besides seeing my favorite artist of all time it was one of the best experiences of the year. It was my first real music festival and we camped on the grounds, didn’t bathe, ate packed lunches and downed bottles of wine and rum amidst other vices. It was kind of like our own little music movie and we were all the stars. I would say the camping experience was more enriching than the actual music festival itself – a festival with NO re-entry, $10 24oz Coors cans and over priced fatty foods with thousands of people held captive to see their favorite artists. However, waiting inside the festival for 10 hours just to see Bjork was a bit trying on my patience.

That’s why when I saw this years lineup I was really excited since many of my favorite new artists are playing! (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Santogold, The Dodos, Grizzly Bear, Beach House)

However, Sasquatch was pretty smart evil when they arranged the lineup of the show as all of the main artists I would drive 5 hours to see play on separate days….FYI – festival tickets are over 70 bucks a day! After having moved across town and having friends who are getting laid off left and right it probably isn’t the most financially welcoming experience…so unfortunately, a girl will have to dream…if only we were all rich and could drop a few bills on this because it really is a wonderful time.

I guess I will just have to watch videos of The Dodos until they come through Portland on their own ride:

2 Responses to “KEEP IT ON THE BROWNLOWE: Sasquatch 2009”


  1. 1 Chris
    March 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Beach House was just at the Wonder a short while back,
    opening for somebody (yeah, I was WORKing that night,
    big fuckin surprise there).

  2. 2 David
    May 24, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I just got back from the gorge tonight this morning wish i could have camped, got to see my favorite bad perform though Nine Inch Nails, it was a hell of a show, left right after Nine Inch Nails was done so I missed Jane’s Addiction but I’m not that huge of a fan of there music anyhow, all in all, great experience!!!


Leave a Reply

