29
Apr
09

Jon: Ok, maybe I have no heart, but…

…I am so fucking sick of this whole Susan Boyle thing!

sb

 I swear. It’s like everytime I turn on the TV, instead of finding something interesting, I just see stupid commentary on how awesome Susan Boyle is. I mean, yes, I agree that she is a good singer, though not as shockingly good as she is made out to be. It seems to me though that most of the fuss payed to her is a result of people being surprised that the voice they are hearing is coming out of such a homely body. Which at it’s root is sort of fucked up, reductive, and insulting right?

I know if I was famous, I wouldn’t want it to be for being an ugly but talented underdog.  Her fame is obviously rooted in exploitative, hallmark-y, Extreme Makover: Home Edition-style heart string pulling. “Wow, watch her overcome!” we are meant to think…

Then again, maybe I am just being a cynic.

Here is a totally ridiculous video of a woman watching Susan Boyle sing. Don’t you just want to shake her and shout “MAYBE YOU SHOULD JUST ADOPT A CAT AND GET A LIFE ALREADY”!?

Also, after the jump is the actual video of Boyle singing in case you live under a rock and have no idea what I am talking about.

 

OK. I actually just re-watched that and got a little teary eyed. So maybe I do have a heart after all. Or am I just a greeting card zombie? whatever….

1 Response to “Jon: Ok, maybe I have no heart, but…”


  1. 1 majorgressingham
    April 30, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Dear boy it has nothing to do with being a cynic, nor being heartless. The reason you are sick of it is becasue the whole thing is a non-story.

    See my take on things at http://www.majorgressingham.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 418,747 hits