15
May
09

Jon: Dear everyone-I-talked-to-last-year-during-the-election…

jon new logo

…not to be all “I told you so”, but….yeah.

During the primaries last year, I was a pretty big supporter of Hilary Clinton. She had many admiral qualities that made her worth voting for, but her almost entirely positive (though occasionally overly pragmatic) views on queer rights issues were a big plus for me. Barrack Obama talked an ok game in regards to queer rights, but I couldn’t shake the feeling that it was mostly just for show to appeal to the largely leftist base that was voting for him. He seemed so dispassionate about them, especially considering how passionate he seemed on other issues…

Unfortunately, it’s starting to look like I was right. Obama continues to treat homos as second class citizens…

Is it to late to still vote for Hillary?

Dan Savage sums it up pretty well in the following video:

video via Digging To China

ps: Dan Savage is so fucking hot it makes me want to implode!

5 Responses to “Jon: Dear everyone-I-talked-to-last-year-during-the-election…”


  1. 1 stacyx
    May 16, 2009 at 8:39 am

    I have to say I agree with you. During the primaries I was very conflicted because I am a huge Hillary fan (I have a blog devoted to her and foreign policy) and as a lesbian, I truly felt that she had really come around to embracing *almost* full equality for gays and lesbians- unfortunately, democratic politics being what it is, the beltway DNC conventional wisdom is/was that a viable democratic candidate for office has to be against full marriage equality and I happen to disagree with that, but they didn’t ask me… I did have differences in opinion with Hillary with respect to the Iraq War and some of her more hawkish stances with respect to Iran and Israel, but, that’s off topic.

    With Obama, I didn’t really feel the love so much. When he was asked by that idiot from Saddleback Church about gay marriage, Obama did the usual head nod towards religious conservatives by explaining his opposition to gay marriage was based on his personal religious beliefs- here’s the problem- as a lawyer and former Constitutional Law professor, he knows damn well that as a government official, his personal religious views are not a valid reason for denying equal rights to a large portion of the citizenry, particularly given that under law, marriage is a *contract* with no religious or spiritual requirement whatsoever. So that bummed me out because I felt like he was being totally disingenuous.

    ************
    http://www.secretaryclinton.wordpress.com

  2. 2 gaycondo
    May 16, 2009 at 9:47 am

    thanks for the smart response stacy!

  3. 3 Chris
    May 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    As with most any left-leaning issue, I think the only person
    who CARED as a Presidential candidate would be Dennis Kucinich.

    You saw how sedate I was during election night, Jon. I was thinking
    of the anti-gay referendums (and, well, Al Franken) all night.

    Hillary Clinton does not care about me.
    Barack Obama does not care about me.
    McCain and Palin, oh please.
    Bob Barr, nope.
    Ron Paul, hah, well, maybe he cares about me, I don’t know,
    but I didn’t vote for him.

    I voted for Obama with the idea that he is less likely to drop bombs on
    civilians than John McCain. I still think THAT’s generally true, anyway.

  4. 4 Chris
    May 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    ps – and less likely than Hillary, too, I’d say.

  5. 5 Leonard
    June 7, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Again I agree with Chris.


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!