16
Jun
09

Paul: Barack Obama finally moves on gay rights…

img_1611

but I am still skeptical.

gay-obama

Is anyone else totally over Barack Obama? ?? Up until now he’s hasn’t done a single thing for gay people, and his administration has actually supported discriminatory policies he promised to end.

I am encouraged to read that Obama is set to sign a Presidential Memorandum extending benefits to same-sex partners of federal employees.  I work directly with federal employees at my job, and I know a lot of them are gay and are going to benefit greatly from this. 

I have to wonder though, if all it took to make this happen is drafting a memo, why the f@#* wasn’t it done on day one? I would have guessed that sort of thing would have to go through congress. The details are supposed to be released tomorrow, I am anxious to see how extensive they will be.

It is well past time for the administration to move on DOMA, don’t ask don’t tell, federal employment laws, etc.  These are no longer popular policies, he promised to support them and should man up and do so.

3 Responses to “Paul: Barack Obama finally moves on gay rights…”


  1. 1 Chris
    June 17, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Someone on my Facebook list said that someone in the administration compared gay marriage to incest….. I can’t comment more yet, as I havne’t seen a direct atribution of the quote in an article. I did a very short search earlier, but planned to follow up later… part of my lack of haste is my -utterly- appalled fear that it is true. Probably is.

    I’m in a group on Facebook for ENDA (employment non-discrimination act), and they said to write to your Congressperson to see where they stand on a *gender presentation* ENDA (not just gay/lesbian), and I’ve written off to Earl Blumenauer about that yesterday…. I don’t hold much hope of getting back anything but a computer-generated email about “lesbian and gay” ENDA, since that’s what happened *last time I wrote to him about a *more inclusive one.
    Anyway, the numbers on a possible all-enclusive ENDA aren’t that bad right now. A lot of “undecided/ not sure”s in Congress… but hey, it’s not a “no!”

    If Obama’s waiting for our wars to “end” before doing away with don’t-ask-don’t-tell, hah, I don’t think that’s gonna happen any time soon.

    Lastly, I glanced at an article on the partnership rights you mention, and it stressed that it didn’t cover a lot of the health care. I wondered why. I mean, if Obama *cares so much about people getting more health care, why the skittishness in Fed-employed-queers getting some??

  2. 2 zach
    June 17, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    1. the memorandom that obama signed basically did nothing–gay federal employees already had basically the same access to the things he said he was giving them through this memo. also, it only affects gay federal employees who have partners, and the biggest thing it would cover is relocation expenses.

    2. obama cannot provide the important things like health care and pension death benefits because of the DOMA, which his justice dept defended in federal court very homophobically last week.

    3. obama is a prick.

  3. 3 gaycondo
    June 18, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again:

    Obama doesn’t like gay people, it was a ploy to appeal to leftist voters that otherwise would have abstained or gone third party.
    -jon


Leave a Reply

