19
Jun
09

Jon: The Portraits of Ryan McGinley…

jon new logo

I am currently loving the work of New York photographer Ryan McGinley. In an area of photography bloated with a lot of uninspired fluff, his nude portraits stand out. Much like the youthful exuberance documented by the images, McGinley’s adept use of lighting and motion feels fresh, dynamic, and full of life. His several photographs involving fireworks (bottom image) are especially memorable. I love the use of lo-fi methods to create art that feels anything but. Make sure to visit his website for many more images, including behind the scenes photos of his often impressive gallery set-ups.

rm1

 

rm3

 

rm4

 

rm5

3 Responses to “Jon: The Portraits of Ryan McGinley…”


  1. June 19, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    These are awesome pictures. The last one and the first one are my favorites. To me they are just natural beauty–not overly photoshopped with all these effects on them of some trite image. People are never trite subjects, I don’t think.

  2. 2 Chris
    June 20, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I remember seeing him in a (pricey, think, color) photo-zine that
    I bought @ 2005 or so… darn, I’m forgetting the name of it….

    Anyway, as I recall, Ryan McGinley = VERY hot.

    Just did a quick GoogleImages search. Found pics of Ryan, looking
    very Paul Dano/ Jim Carroll-like. and NOT to dis those folks, but I
    recall much HOTTER pics of him in that mag. He did a goofy, Playboy-
    Playmate-type centerfold with silly “turn-ons” and “turn-offs.” I
    recall he was a fan of the onanism. (Me, too!)

    It’s the art that matters, and his work in there was good, too,
    but juuust sayin’…

    I’m gonna be trying to remember that magazine’s name for hours, now.

  3. 3 Chris
    June 20, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    God, I hate typos.

    ^ Replace “think” (?) with “thick.” It was a real study-stock,
    art-intensive zine.


Leave a Reply

