03
Jul
09

Jon: Seven Inch Saturday!

jon new logo

Bangs- “Maggie the Cat” (1997)

bangs1

Bangs appeared at the tail end of the post riot girl music movement of the mid 90’s. Releasing the majority of their recordings (this 7″ being the only exception) on Olympia power label Kill Rock Stars, they quickly became a national mainstay on the indie music circuit. Interestingly, they built their sound around a niche that was largely unseen in the feminist minded 90’s indie rock scene: butt rock twinged power-pop. When looking for the evolutionary origin for Bangs, you won’t find it in people like Patti Smith,The Raincoats, or Heaven’s to Betsy. Instead, they seem to be taking there cues from party rock mainstays such as Cheap Trick or (dare I say it) Kiss.

The Maggie the Cat 7″ was the first recording they ever did, and is the only to feature vocals from original drummer Jesse Fox (on Lights Out,one of my favorites from their catalog of songs). I don’t know how long ago this went out of print, but I remember feeling incredibly lucky to have found it in a store when I did, and that was way back in 1999.

 

Maggie the Cat

Get Electric

Lights Out

3 Responses to “Jon: Seven Inch Saturday!”


  1. 1 Chris
    July 4, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I downloaded a couple songs of theirs from Kill Rock Stars (i.e. legit
    giveaways, not illegal downloads!). They seemed very grunge. Not what
    I’d call butt rock exactly; sorta Turbonegroish at the most poppy!

  2. 2 EM
    July 4, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    I must say i really effing love this particular blog entry concept. we cannot let this small bit of indie rock culture be banished and forgotton in the underground. good job and keep it up!

  3. July 23, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I have this 7″, too! I love BANGS, I even have lyrics tattooed on me. It was my first tattoo LMFAO


Leave a Reply

