15
Aug
09

Jon: Seven Inch Saturday!

jon new logo

Quasi – Mailorder Freaks 7″

quasi

I know I posted another 7″ from the Kill Rock Stars Mailorder Freaks Club just a few weeks ago, but there are so many good ones to choose from that I just couldn’t help myself.

 I first got into Quasi my sophomore year of  High School (11 years ago! ahh!), which was a little odd because at the time I was pretty much only listening to Riot Girl, punk and queercore music. Quasi however is pure pop (or was at the time anyway), but I gave them an initial chance because Janet Weiss (of Sleater Kinney, who I LOVED when I was 16) was the drummer. I bought a CD of their album Featuring Birds and was hooked.

That same year I missed the boat by not buying a copy of this 7″, and regretted it for years. A few months ago though, I was surprised top find one used. It’s always wierd to hear songs by a band for the first time years after they were released.

(Side Story: I was listening to the side B song “Kiss the Snowman” the other day while Paul was at work and I got really lonely and sent him a crazy text message about how I missed him.)

 

 

 Side A: Unto Itself

Side B: Kiss the Snowman

https://gaycondo.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/quasi-mailorder-freaks-7_-01-side-b.mp3″

2 Responses to “Jon: Seven Inch Saturday!”


  1. 1 Luke
    November 3, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Hey I know this is probably in poor form, but you wouldn’t mind sharing the “Kiss the Snowman” mp3 would you?

    I adore this song and I too have sent a gushy message or two because of it.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    November 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I already feel a slight twinge of guilt for posting mp3’s on here… so….sorry no. BUT, I am constantly searching for records on EBAY, and this pops up for about $10 pretty regularly. Good, luck!


Leave a Reply

