19
Aug
09

Jon: Elizabeth Gilbert’s Daemons…

jon new logo

I’ve never read Eat, Pray, Loveor any of Elizabeth Gilbert’s other books, but from what I’ve  heard they are a bunch of bourgeois/yoga/whitey fluff. That being said, I am in love with her talk for TED that I recently saw on New Art, my favorite new art blog. Gee, that was a redundant sentence.

I hadn’t heard of TED before, but from what I gather it is a non-profit that creates weekly videos of talks given around the world by important thinkers of our time. The concept being that these ideas are so important that they must be free to all that want to hear them.

I love the concept. So far I have seen about five of the over 400 talks available on youtube, and they have all been fantastic. Elizabeth Gilbert’s has stuck with me the most though. I am a scientific realist, and of course don’t believe in actual spirits, daemons, ghosts, or fairies. I can appreciate them as strong metaphor though.

I’m sure you will all love her talk as much as I have.

ps: Doesn’t she have the most fantastic and genetically NPR sounding voice EVER!?

 

 

3 Responses to “Jon: Elizabeth Gilbert’s Daemons…”


  1. 1 Julia
    August 20, 2009 at 6:39 am

    I love this talk too when I first saw it. She is great! I did read Eat Pray Love and I’ll be proud to say I loved it. Gaby got me to read it. After reading it I prefaced all my advice to my friends with the words, “Well when Elizabeth Gilbert was sad about love she did this..” and “Elizabeth Gilberts’s mom said this when Elizabeth Gilbert asked her about being sad about love.” Total cheese fest but man did I have some good answers for my friends relationship problems that week and kept throwing that book in their face. You should try to read the story she wrote called “Buckle Bunnies” – about rodeo cowboy-humping whores. Its brilliant.
    On the subject of whores..read what I just wrote for nerve.com here.
    http://www.nerve.com/regulars/my-worst-time/002-female-23-western-massachusetts/

  2. 2 gaycondo
    August 20, 2009 at 10:27 am

    yay for your story!

  3. 3 Chris
    August 21, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    She does have that Sat Night Live NPR skit–Jodie Foster–
    Angelina Jolie–Nora Dunn voice.

    I’ve always said I don’t believe in “geniuses” of songwriting.
    I don’t think “genius” is appropriate for the arts in general,
    for something that is OPINION.
    I can make good arguments why Bob Dylan is better than Ashley
    Simpson… but ultimately, it’s JUST an opinion.


Leave a Reply

