26
Aug
09

Jon: “Julie and Julia”? Loved it…

jj

4 Responses to “Jon: “Julie and Julia”? Loved it…”


  1. August 27, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Jon, honey, you failed to mention that the film also drives one insane with the desire to go out and cook nonstop! And also that Stanley Tucci is a babe.

  2. August 28, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Quite funny. When watching the movie it didn’t really cross my mind that it was intended to appeal to gay men, but I enjoyed it quite a lot and so did the (gay) couple in front of me. One of them could not stop snorting from laughter. The book definitely is not as queer-oriented, but Julia does use the “stiff cock” line and one of Julie’s acquantainces is a former overweight geek turned gay adonis. I found the book and movie to be different enough that I could enjoy both without drawing comparisons..

  3. 3 gaycondo
    August 28, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    as a general rule, I find that pretty much any movie about “smart and quirky yet flawed under dog woman who achieve greatness against all odds” will appeal to most gay men.
    One of my favorite movies that falls into this category is “Dick” starring Kirsten Dunst and Michelle Williams. I’m pretty sure it was a financial failure though.

  4. 4 Dominic
    September 6, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I haven’t watched the movie yet as I’m waiting for it to be released on DVD, but I’m predicting that I will have rather this movie just be a bio flick of Julia Child staring Meryl Streep without the frame story based on that woman cooking all of The French Chef.

    It seems that this is supported from some of the critical reviews which say that both Adams’ performance and character falls flat next to those of Streep’s. I am not surprised: putting any personality/actress combo like that of Child’s/Streep against any other would almost certainly be unfair.


Leave a Reply

