29
Aug
09

Jon: Seven Inch Saturday…

jonnewlogo

Moving – The Raincoats

rain

So before I really start, I have to confess that I am cheating a little bit here. These songs are not actually from a 7″, but are taken from the 1984 full length, Moving by The Raincoats. However, there are special circumstances that lead me to breaking the official format of Seven Inch Saturday. But before we get to that, a little back story…

As you have most likely gathered from previous entries in this series, when I was a teenager I pretty much exclusively listen to riot girl, punk, and rock music. It wasn’t that I was purposefully cutting myself off from other artistic ideas, but more so that I was just a dumb teenager who hadn’t yet fully realized how to appreciate music ( which is not to invalidate the music I did like at that age). Lucky for me though, I was a teen in the mid to late 90’s, and eventually had access to the internet. Where previous generations might have poured over Rolling Stone, I was fortunate to have queer punk message boards to read.

Eventually someone turned me on to 70’s/80’s group The Raincoats. I started where most people do by listening to their self-titled (and their only traditionally punk) album. I LOVED it, and immediately bought all their other album. But since I was a dumb teen, I hated them all. They weren’t punk, so I closed myself off to them. Stupid.

Luckily I gave them another shot when I was 20, and realized how amazing they were. Moving quickly won the titled of Best Album Ever in the book of Jon.

Skip ahead a few more years. I only owned Moving on CD, but one day found an unopened mint condition vinyl copy on Ebay. I was so excited. Once I got it, I considered listening to it, but ruled out the idea for fear of marring my treasure. What was the point. I already had the songs on CD right?

Now skip ahead another few years. Paul and I get a new record player. We are going through all of our old records for fun and I decide, “What the fuck? Let’s just play my special Raincoats record already!”. We put it on, and after we are one song in something incredible happens:

This is not the same track listing as the fucking CD!

Some how I had never noticed, but the long out of print LP has two extra tracks! TWO!

They weren’t  included in the 90’s CD reissue for some stupid reason. For me it was like someone had just given me long lost recording of my favorite band. I was blown away!

So, since they are not on the CD and will most likely never be reissued, I thought it would be fair to post them here.

Enjoy!

Dreaming in The Past

https://gaycondo.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/01-dreaming-in-the-past.mp3″

Avidoso

https://gaycondo.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/01-avidoso.mp3″

 

1 Response to “Jon: Seven Inch Saturday…”


  1. August 29, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Thank you so much for posting this Jon I love love love the Raincoats!


Leave a Reply

