23
Sep
09

Nickey: Compare and contrast!

Nickey Robo

Lady Gaga has gotten a lot of attention for her over-the-top bullshit fest from last weeks VMA’s. At first I was going to write about Gaga vs. Courtney Love and the meaning of authenticity… But then I realized that my thoughts were getting too complicated for this blog and I wanted to write a longer essay. So! I encourage you to watch both these videos in rapid secession and draw your own conclusions.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

6 Responses to “Nickey: Compare and contrast!”


  1. September 23, 2009 at 8:33 am

    I don’t know if they’re comparable as performers besides the fact that they’e both female and both about the same age in these performances. Lady Gaga is far more out of the Madonna mold which has always been about eye catching controversial over the top circus visuals. I don’t think she’s working towards authenticity so much as overall spectacle/showmanship.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    September 23, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Though I don’t think they are comparativly similiar as artists, I do think they are similiar in that they serve the same social function. Both were considered the most interesting and “authentic” alternative to the music scene they were a part of.

    I will say, it seemed like Lady Gaga was actually singing, not just lip synching.
    wierd.

    -jon

  3. 3 gaycondo
    September 23, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Well, I see what you mean Leah, but I think there is a lot to compare. A lot of what’s been written about Lady Gaga talks about her background in the New York East Village club scene, and how much of a Serious Artist she is. I think the attempt is to build her up as an authentic artist, rather than the normal manufactured pop.

    Courtney Love was also taken more seriously, once upon a time, because her perceived authenticity coming out of the LA punk scene. And, personally, I do see her performance as an artist as much more authentic. Both of these performances were from the VMA’s, a very mainstream musical event. But Love, while being a thin, blonde, white woman like Lady Gaga looks like a fucked up drag queen. She’s subverting our expectations of femininity, wearing an ankle length dress and screaming. Lady Gaga seems to just fully take in and live up to our expectations of a pop star, being a thin, white, blonde woman performing in a bikini with a gaggle of silent men of color as her back-up dancers. And then she finishes it off with sexualized violence! Ugh. So basically, I think there’s a lot to be said in these two videos about how our culture has changed in the last 15 years.

    And, yes, Jon, you are right, I do think she’s really singing! She doesn’t have an awful voice, her music just blows.

    -Nickey

  4. 4 brownlowecohen
    September 25, 2009 at 11:04 am

    God I wish I grew up ten years earlier so I couldve been in my twenties during Courtney’s heyday (and the rest of grunge and riot grrrl era)….

    and i agree, GAGA is definitely more of a post modern Madonna…or post pop malfunction. Did anyone else catch the similarities of this video to Vogue?.

    I’m totally on Courtney’s side on this one (tho after my body the hand grenade I’ve lost touch with her).

    Just imagine how shitty music will be for the nexxxxxt generation! UGH!

  5. 5 Chris
    September 25, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Courtney Love – earrrly days, maybe. Something went
    waaaay wrong there, in the whole ermm Hollywood trip.

    Lady Gaga – not digging at all.

    M.I.A. >>>>> Lady Gaga

  6. 6 gaycondo
    September 28, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I agree with Chris.

    -Paul


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!