27
Sep
09

Paul: Music Video Monday…

IMG_1681

Red Aunts – Roller Derby Queen

3 Responses to “Paul: Music Video Monday…”


  1. 1 gaycondo
    September 28, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    check out Beehive and the Barracudas. they are a crazy band from San Diego and Keri from Red Aunts was in that band for a bit.

    shes replaced the original Kerri for a few records…Original Kerri is back…and she used to play in a band called Tourettes Lautrec. I think you will like both of these bands.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    September 28, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    cheers, thanks a lot!

  3. 3 Chris
    September 29, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Did I tell you about seeing The Red Aunts? Well, I’ll just repeat
    it, if so…

    I saw them at Phantasmagoria Records, a Maryland (DC-suburban) store
    that used to have shows. It was my favorite venue because it was the
    first I went to that was non-smoking (so as not to stink up the albums)
    and yet they served beer! And you could peruse the racks during shows.

    The band played great. I remember talking to Debbie and she was cool
    and I don’t think she was sober, hah. She was very mellow… and I was
    talking to Terri and said my fave album of theirs was Drag, the first
    one (still is) and I resented that Flipside mag said they couldn’t play
    their instruments in their early days and she laughed and said, “Well
    we COULDN’T…” I’ve read that The Stooges only played for a year before
    their first record, and all I can say is, 1) they were the freaking STOOGES,
    they RULED!! 2) Drag is the only album that’s ever really reminded me of
    the Stooges… not necessarily in the sound (no fuzz pedals) but in the
    approach, the primitive guitar attack…

    I saw them a while later at The Black Cat in DC. Still good, but a lil slower
    tunes. (At one point, I yelled, “Play something fast!” and I’m afraid Terri
    took it a bit heckled-ly. I just had their Phantasmagoria show fresh in mind,
    was all.)


Leave a Reply

