05
Oct
09

Nickey and Gaby: Whip It txt mssg movie review!

Nickey Robo gab

Firstly, dear readers, did you know that Nickey and Gaby are very good friends of nearly ten years now (god, we are old!)? It’s true! Although we have lived thousands of miles apart for some time, we maintain very similar opinions about pop culture, keeping our friendship as strong as bamboo.

We were both incredibly excited to see Whip It, the new movie about roller derby directed by Drew Barrymore, written by Shauna Cross and starring basically every amazing woman in Hollywood (Ellen Page, Kristin Wiig, Zoe Bell, Marcia Gay Harden, Juliette Lewis, and Alia Shawkat, among others). Page plays 17-year-old Bliss, a bit of a misfit living in working-class suburban Texas. At the behest of her mother (Harden), Bliss competes in local beauty pageants but does not enjoy it. On a shopping excursion into Austin she picks up a flier for a local roller derby league. She and her best-friend Pash (Shawkat) attend the meet and afterward Bliss decides to try out. What follows is a fun, high energy story of finding yourself among a group of powerful women and making peace with your parents.

Juliette Lewis stars as Iron Maven

Juliette Lewis stars as Iron Maven

Nickey was lucky enough to attend a preview screening on Tuesday (and, um, again on Thursday!) and Gaby saw it Friday afternoon.What follows was our email and text message exchange.

Nickey (on Wednesday): Whip It was AMMMMMAZZZZING. I mean, it was just so good in practically every way possible. Girl power! Roller skating! Women over 35 portrayed as hot, interesting babes! Boys in Modern Lovers t-shirts! People in Texas not portrayed as yokels! A realistic working class family! And the awesome Kristen Wiig! Oh, Gaby, this is the movie I have been waiting my whole life for. I cried, and not so much because it was incredibly moving, but because I just felt so happy that this movie exists for teenage girls. I hope Drew Barrymore keeps directing and Shauna Cross keeps writing, because they’re both really good.

Gaby (on Friday):  I demand a group marriage to Ellen Page, Drew Barrymoe and Kristen Wiig.

Nickey: Yes!

Nickey: Also: underwater virgitnity loss: hot or not? I thought it was pretty hot, then I saw some dumb review that was like “ugh, dumb and not believable.” Hmph.

Drew+Barrymore+Whip+It+Toronto+3

Drew Barrymore at the Toronto International Film Festival premiere. I mostly wanted to include this because her Alexander McQueen dress is SO INCREDIBLE.

Gaby: I thought it was ok, but when I was 16 it would have given me a big wettie.

Gaby: Also reviewers are old people with no joy.

Nickey: Yeah. Especially the male ones.

Nickey: Which is 90% of them.

Gaby: I feel like taking an old male film critic to this movie is as pointless as teaching an elephant to fart on command.

Nickey: Yeah, the Onion review was really mean! I was shocked. I seriously have a hard time seeing how anyone could dislike Whip It. But I guess old men hate everything about girls, especially girls that are too cool to fuck them.

Gaby: I mean, whatever, there are people who didn’t like Bikini Kill. People who are called fools! The local derby girls gave me a commemorative cup afterwards!

Nickey: Oh, me too!

2 Responses to “Nickey and Gaby: Whip It txt mssg movie review!”


  1. 1 gaycondo
    October 5, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Two things:

    1.) Please do this for every movie that you both see. It is a fantastic idea for a re-occurring blog post

    2.) US magazine made fun of that dress and it made me hate US magazine a little. Clearly, it is amazing….
    -jon

    ps: yes, I guess I just admitted I read US…..

  2. 2 embrownlowe
    October 6, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    i wanna see this!


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!