11
Feb
10

Jon: Menswear Fall 2010// Best of Milan and Paris// Part Two: Etro

jonnewlogo

The first thing to keep in mind when viewing  Kean Etro’s Fall 2010 collection is that you must ignore the hats. They are big, and dumb, and have little in relation with the rest of the styling. I believe that the hats, which you’ll notice are not present in any of my top four looks below,  were added last minute by Etro to “jazz up” what for him is actually a pretty tame collection. The fact of the matter though is that Etro is always at his best when he keeps it simple, tailored, and wearable. For example, remember his Spring 2009 flop? 

This is sort of a recurring thing for Kean Etro. Awesome Fall collections, turdy Spring ones. I feel like an enabling and abused spouse every time I take him back, but fuck it. I love you Kean Etro.

At least for now.

For the upcoming Fall season Etro’s theme seems to be what I have affectionately titled “equestrian pimp”.  The jodhpurs, horse bit hardware, and leg bindings scream weekend in Connecticut. But the jewel tones, lush fabrics, flashy shoes, and (*sigh*) huge hats shout back with Saturday nights downtown.

 I love all the pants and jackets (with the exception of those giant pocket leather hip enhancing beasts. If it makes a model look pear shaped, imagine what you would look like), and those leg bindings seem both forward and surprisingly wearable. In fact, there isn’t much in this collection that I can’t imagine myself wearing. I might not style it as such, but as separates it all works.

 

3 Responses to “Jon: Menswear Fall 2010// Best of Milan and Paris// Part Two: Etro”


  1. 1 gay
    February 13, 2010 at 11:23 am

    I really don’t like those men they look so anorexic its incredible.
    Whats wrong with society??? I would never date any of them.

  2. 2 gaycondo
    February 14, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    My, that’s a very size-ist statement. I’m sure they wouldn’t want to date a jerk who dismisses them for their bodies either.

    -jon

    PS: this is a post about fashion, not models. let’s stay on task in our comments, shall we?

  3. February 15, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I love those bottom two jackets! Jon, I need your help! I feel like my style is not good these days. I need advice! Come style me! I have money!


Leave a Reply

Got any good leads?

gaycondo [at] yahoo [dot] com

We Are In A Band!

Ongoing Gaycondo Projects…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 418,747 hits